Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Wall'O'Fame
Greg's pseudo-HT room
EP175v4 with M3v4
Who's Online
4 registered (Mad_Chesser, onn, Da_Gimp_Pimp, JBG), 58 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13336 Members
11 Forums
22947 Topics
405868 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17809
pmbuko 16298
SirQuack 13344
CV 11273
MarkSJohnson 10968
Meanwhile On Facebook

The end of a truly unique voice. RIP Joe Cocker - you were part of the soundtr...

Here's hoping you get what you really want this year! What could be better than...

Shopping made easy! Need it by the 24th? Upgrade to air shipping for just $20!...

Just two more days! Better tell your gift-givers! http://axiomaudio.com/holida...

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#117294 - 11/24/05 04:19 AM Creative X-Fi Pro Elite
rabrant Offline
regular

Registered: 12/01/04
Posts: 5
Loc: MN - USA
I was toying around with the idea of building a system using my PC as the pre/pro. Run cables from my PC to an amp which powers the speakers. Does anybody know if this would work? I'm not sure if the soundcards outputs would work like pre-outs.

Go here: http://www.creative.com/products/product.asp?category=1&subcategory=16&product=14309

They tell you to hook it to a receiver, but a computer has volume controls and processing, so all I need is an amp right? Could somebody please correct me if I am wrong (with technical evidance from a reliable source).

Top
#117295 - 11/24/05 12:36 PM Re: Creative X-Fi Pro Elite
Michael_13 Offline
hobbyist

Registered: 10/24/05
Posts: 29
Loc: Canada
If you have the pro i believe you have optical toslink, so i dont see why it wouldnt work, that sound card is amazing musta cost you a shiny nickel though. is it the Internal or external model?
_________________________
Samsung 6168w xbox 360 Imaginary epic60 500

Top
#117296 - 11/25/05 05:41 AM Re: Creative X-Fi Pro Elite
rabrant Offline
regular

Registered: 12/01/04
Posts: 5
Loc: MN - USA
I don't have one yet... I'm just looking into my options. It's $400. Weighing out my options to get the best sound for the buck.

Let's pretend this is what I go with (building a HTPC). What would be a good amp for a 5.1 setup?

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.