Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Our Newest Flagship Model: The M100

Why We Make Our Own Drivers

Wall'O'Fame
"Serenity Cinema", now with 40% extra Serenity!
Updated as requested.
Who's Online
3 registered (Kevin1, BobKay, Socketman), 89 Guests and 21 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
12707 Members
11 Forums
22684 Topics
400492 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17696
pmbuko 16224
SirQuack 13311
CV 11061
MarkSJohnson 10678
Meanwhile On Facebook

8| Don't miss Andrew Welker's post on our message boards about the new subwoofer...

󾓲 The April Newsletter is out! Did you get your copy? http://www.axiomaudio.co...

Double-take! :O How well do you know our line? First one to spot the surprise...

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#117294 - 11/24/05 04:19 AM Creative X-Fi Pro Elite
rabrant Offline
regular

Registered: 12/01/04
Posts: 5
Loc: MN - USA
I was toying around with the idea of building a system using my PC as the pre/pro. Run cables from my PC to an amp which powers the speakers. Does anybody know if this would work? I'm not sure if the soundcards outputs would work like pre-outs.

Go here: http://www.creative.com/products/product.asp?category=1&subcategory=16&product=14309

They tell you to hook it to a receiver, but a computer has volume controls and processing, so all I need is an amp right? Could somebody please correct me if I am wrong (with technical evidance from a reliable source).

Top
#117295 - 11/24/05 12:36 PM Re: Creative X-Fi Pro Elite
Michael_13 Offline
hobbyist

Registered: 10/24/05
Posts: 29
Loc: Canada
If you have the pro i believe you have optical toslink, so i dont see why it wouldnt work, that sound card is amazing musta cost you a shiny nickel though. is it the Internal or external model?
_________________________
Samsung 6168w xbox 360 Imaginary epic60 500

Top
#117296 - 11/25/05 05:41 AM Re: Creative X-Fi Pro Elite
rabrant Offline
regular

Registered: 12/01/04
Posts: 5
Loc: MN - USA
I don't have one yet... I'm just looking into my options. It's $400. Weighing out my options to get the best sound for the buck.

Let's pretend this is what I go with (building a HTPC). What would be a good amp for a 5.1 setup?

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.