Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Wall'O'Fame
Greg's pseudo-HT room
EP175v4 with M3v4
Who's Online
0 registered (), 30 Guests and 7 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13336 Members
11 Forums
22945 Topics
405833 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17809
pmbuko 16298
SirQuack 13344
CV 11273
MarkSJohnson 10966
Meanwhile On Facebook

Shopping made easy! Need it by the 24th? Upgrade to air shipping for just $20!...

Just two more days! Better tell your gift-givers! http://axiomaudio.com/holida...

So many people took advantage of the weekend sales! Lots of auditioning about t...

Only a few hours left to get a gift card worth up to 25% of your purchase! http:...

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#122231 - 12/29/05 12:14 AM Denon 3910 problem
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17809
Loc: NoVA
No, I don't have one...

But a friend of mine does. I've upgraded to the Denon LINK 3 firmware on it twice, and I found out tonight that it had lost that upgrade again; eg in the DLINK menu, it only shows OFF and 2nd, where before it showed OFF, 2nd, and 3rd. Anyone else encountering this? Anyone know what I'm talking about?
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#122232 - 12/29/05 01:06 PM Re: Denon 3910 problem
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16298
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
I think bigwill might have something to say about it.
_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
#122233 - 12/29/05 01:09 PM Re: Denon 3910 problem
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17809
Loc: NoVA
Probably similar to what my friend said about it...
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#122234 - 12/29/05 01:39 PM Re: Denon 3910 problem
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17809
Loc: NoVA
A follow up on this--since no one seems to know about Denon LINK 3--he's also considering switching to analog cables. Will that work for DVD video, or does he need a digital connection as well?
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#122235 - 12/29/05 01:51 PM Re: Denon 3910 problem
Ajax Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/30/03
Posts: 6255
Loc: Cleveland, Ohio
The 5.1 analog connection will work for DVD videos. BUT, his processor wouldn't be applying any bass management or other processing to the multichannel inputs. The 3910 would be doing the digital to analog conversion, and he's have to set up the speaker sizes and distances in the 3910, assuming that's possible. Is there some reason he can't just use a standard digital output, coax or optical, from his Denon to his processor?
_________________________
Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton

Top
#122236 - 12/29/05 02:04 PM Re: Denon 3910 problem
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17809
Loc: NoVA
I'm just trying to make it as straightforward as possible; which seemed to be the DenonLINK. Sadly, it seems that I was wrong about that.



Hmm... I just looked at the manual, and at first glance, firewire should work for all of the various formats. Can anyone confirm this? If so, what's the point of DenonLINK at all?
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.