Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
HG Rosewoods Part 3
Who's Online
1 registered (CV), 59 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13296 Members
11 Forums
22827 Topics
403291 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17742
pmbuko 16259
SirQuack 13318
CV 11146
MarkSJohnson 10833
Meanwhile On Facebook

A very fond farewell party last night . . . we miss you Noreen!

Hope everyone's got their summer favourite playlists cued up for the weekend! W...

(y) Love this customer review of the M2s! "the first time listening to my new a...

These LFR1100 speakers in custom Eggshell White are on their way to Taiwan (yes,...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#122790 - 01/02/06 01:51 PM Denon 3805 and Auto setup/room EQ question
HomeDad Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/29/05
Posts: 3301
Loc: Central,California
I recieved my EP350 last week and used my denon 3805 with a mic for auto setup. The system sounds good, but I'm wondering if this was the best way to get my Sub at max performance. My M60's should arrive this week and I'll have to tweek again, but I want to do a little testing before they arrive. Any advice would be appreciated.
_________________________
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

Top
#122791 - 01/02/06 01:58 PM Re: Denon 3805 and Auto setup/room EQ question
bugbitten Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/06/05
Posts: 2339
Loc: Madisonville, KY
I still use an SPL meter after auto set-up to check levels. I do not use the Denon equalizer on my 3805. It was doing strange things to my system.

Others with more advice will chime in.

Top
#122792 - 01/02/06 02:04 PM Re: Denon 3805 and Auto setup/room EQ question
St_PatGuy Offline
axiomite

Registered: 03/07/05
Posts: 7395
Loc: Glendale, Arizona
I think my HK 7200 has the same thing, with a mic built in to the remote. I used it once and found it a bit inaccurate. Use the spl meter and then adjust by ear. Set it to what you like and what sounds good to you.
_________________________
***********
"Nothin' up my sleeve. . ." --Bullwinkle J. Moose

Top
#122793 - 01/02/06 02:08 PM Re: Denon 3805 and Auto setup/room EQ question
mrbooboy Offline
buff

Registered: 01/05/05
Posts: 54
Loc: Bainbridge Island, WA
I've used the Denon's auto EQ to setup my sub. I find it does a pretty good job. However, for some reason it never comes close to the actual distance. For example, it estimated my sub was 18 feet from my listening position instead of 9 feet. However, to my ears, it sounds good and the level seems appropriate, so I don't argue with it.

I recommend using the EQ as a starting point. If it doesn't sound quite right (too much or too little)...you can always adjust it manually to fit your preference.
_________________________
--------- NEC 42" Plasma Axiom M60s(x3)/QS4s/M22s Denon 3805/3910 Outlaw 7700 SVS PC-Ultra

Top
#122794 - 01/02/06 04:44 PM Re: Denon 3805 and Auto setup/room EQ question
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13318
Loc: Iowa
I would also verify the distance with a tape measure. When I had a 350 with my Denon 2805 it did not get the distance right either. If I recall I had my 350 volume at about the 11-12 o'clock position and the receiver at 0dB, turned off the 350's crossover (all the way clockwise) and let the receiver control the crossover of 80hz.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#122795 - 01/02/06 10:48 PM Re: Denon 3805 and Auto setup/room EQ question
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10363
Michael, my suggestion is that for calibrating the levels and distances of your speakers the auto setup provision of your 3805 is likely to be as least as accurate as could be done by manually calibrating with a separate meter. It shouldn't be assumed that any difference between the two methods would be in favor of the manual calibration; in particular a "wrong" measurement by the receiver of the sub's distance is likely to be more accurate than the physical distance shown by a tape measure, since a delay in the sub amplifier's processing will make the sound arrive later than the actual distance would indicate.

The room equalization processing is more controversial than the calibration and there are those who highly praise a resulting improvement, while others report that the sound was worse. Experiment on your own to form your opinion of your particular situation.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#122796 - 01/03/06 12:22 AM Re: Denon 3805 and Auto setup/room EQ question
HomeDad Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/29/05
Posts: 3301
Loc: Central,California
Thanks eveyone for all your help. My Denon estimated that my listening position was about 7 feet farther away than it actually was on my sub. But after some tweeking using your guys input, everything sounds great and surprisingly I was nearly at the same settings my auto/room eq set the reviever at in the first place.
_________________________
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

Top
#122797 - 01/11/06 02:56 PM Re: Denon 3805 and Auto setup/room EQ question
Richie Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/06/06
Posts: 137
Loc: IL, USA
I have used the Auto EQ setup with my Denon 3805 a number of times and it works quite well. It does miscalculate the distance to the subwoofer, but the settings are OK for my ears. You have to test the various Room EQ settings to see which one you like best. I find the Flat setting best for my HT.
_________________________
4 M80s/VP150/EP600/Denon AVR-5308 & DVD-2910/
2 QSC SRA3622(1100wattsX2)/Carvin 1800HD(600wattsX2)

Top
#122798 - 01/11/06 03:32 PM Re: Denon 3805 and Auto setup/room EQ question
HomeDad Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/29/05
Posts: 3301
Loc: Central,California
Richie, Thanks, believe it or not I had the EQ setting to off, probably would'nt have noticed without your post. Thanks
_________________________
A computer once beat me at chess, but it was no match for me at kick boxing.

Top
#122799 - 01/11/06 06:13 PM Re: Denon 3805 and Auto setup/room EQ question
Richie Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/06/06
Posts: 137
Loc: IL, USA
I am glad I was able to help! The speakers do sound much better with the Room EQ settings ON! :-)
_________________________
4 M80s/VP150/EP600/Denon AVR-5308 & DVD-2910/
2 QSC SRA3622(1100wattsX2)/Carvin 1800HD(600wattsX2)

Top
#122800 - 01/11/06 08:14 PM Re: Denon 3805 and Auto setup/room EQ question
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13318
Loc: Iowa
Actually, if you ask most people that have AVR's with Room EQ setups, they will tell you to leave the Room EQ part turned off. Alan at Axiom has mentioned this many times that it will make good speakers sound bad.

As I've mentioned many times before, the Auto Setup is good for levels, delay, and polarity, that is ok. The room adjusting Room EQ made my 60's have way to much midrange.

My recommendation is to leave any type of Room Eq off.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#122801 - 01/13/06 04:54 PM Re: Denon 3805 and Auto setup/room EQ question
Richie Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/06/06
Posts: 137
Loc: IL, USA
The speakers do sound different with the Room EQ OFF.
_________________________
4 M80s/VP150/EP600/Denon AVR-5308 & DVD-2910/
2 QSC SRA3622(1100wattsX2)/Carvin 1800HD(600wattsX2)

Top
#122802 - 01/15/06 02:52 AM Re: Denon 3805 and Auto setup/room EQ question
Richie Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/06/06
Posts: 137
Loc: IL, USA
The M80ti's now do sound better with Room EQ OFF!
_________________________
4 M80s/VP150/EP600/Denon AVR-5308 & DVD-2910/
2 QSC SRA3622(1100wattsX2)/Carvin 1800HD(600wattsX2)

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.