Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
HG Rosewoods Part 3
Who's Online
0 registered (), 53 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13295 Members
11 Forums
22827 Topics
403276 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17742
pmbuko 16259
SirQuack 13318
CV 11146
MarkSJohnson 10833
Meanwhile On Facebook

A very fond farewell party last night . . . we miss you Noreen!

Hope everyone's got their summer favourite playlists cued up for the weekend! W...

(y) Love this customer review of the M2s! "the first time listening to my new a...

These LFR1100 speakers in custom Eggshell White are on their way to Taiwan (yes,...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#123425 - 01/08/06 12:08 PM 5 channel from pro logic
linhly Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 01/01/06
Posts: 12
hi have a sony str-de497 when i set it to pro logic i get sound from five speaker pro locgic should only be 4 speaker which is the left, right surroung left,right

Top
#123426 - 01/08/06 12:11 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6720
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

What about your center channel, dont you have one?
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#123427 - 01/08/06 12:12 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
linhly Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 01/01/06
Posts: 12
i do have a centre channel

Top
#123428 - 01/08/06 12:18 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6720
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

I assume you are gettimg sound from the center too. I don't quite understand what you are asking. You are suppose to be getting sound from all five speakers in pro logic.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#123429 - 01/08/06 12:22 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
linhly Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 01/01/06
Posts: 12
pro logicII is 5 channel
pro logic is 4 channel
im getting five channel in prologic

Top
#123430 - 01/08/06 12:26 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13318
Loc: Iowa
Pro Logic gives you 4 channels:
Left
Right
Center
Rear (this is a mono signal sent to both rears so you can't count them as two)
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#123431 - 01/08/06 12:28 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13318
Loc: Iowa

_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#123432 - 01/08/06 12:29 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6720
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

Ok I see, I am not familar with the older pro logic.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#123433 - 01/08/06 12:31 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13318
Loc: Iowa
I was not aware newer receivers would even have that option, I stopped using that almost 10yrs ago with my old JVC Pro Logic receiver.
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#123434 - 01/08/06 12:32 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
linhly Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 01/01/06
Posts: 12
thanks i understand now its just my manual shows a diffrent setup for prologic

Top
#123435 - 01/08/06 12:33 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6720
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

My first venture into H/T was only a year or so ago. I am more of a two channel person.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#123436 - 01/08/06 12:35 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
bugbitten Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/06/05
Posts: 2339
Loc: Madisonville, KY
From Dolby site:

<<Dolby Surround is the consumer version of the original Dolby multichannel analog film sound format (Dolby analog and Dolby SR [Spectral Recording]). When a Dolby Surround soundtrack is produced, four channels of audio information—Left, Center, Right, and Mono surround—are matrix-encoded onto two audio tracks. These two tracks are then carried on stereo program sources such as videotapes and TV broadcasts into the home, where they can be decoded by Dolby Pro Logic® to recreate the original four-channel surround sound experience.>>

Top
#123437 - 01/08/06 12:36 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13318
Loc: Iowa
Pro Logic IIx is the one that I'm using more and more to make use of all my 7.1 setup.

http://www.dolby.com/consumer/technology/prologic_IIx.html
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#123438 - 01/08/06 12:37 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
bugbitten Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/06/05
Posts: 2339
Loc: Madisonville, KY
Same here for 6.1 using a upfiring center back behind the couch.

Top
#123439 - 01/08/06 12:45 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6720
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

Looking at the specs of the 497 it seems that it has pro logic 2.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#123440 - 01/08/06 03:54 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13318
Loc: Iowa
Heck Rick, if the 497 does have that technology, not sure why you would want the old pro logic, when you could have DD, DTS, or EX or ES....
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#123441 - 01/08/06 04:42 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
richeydog Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/24/04
Posts: 1201
Loc: Fresno, CA
In reply to:

I was not aware newer receivers would even have that option, I stopped using that almost 10yrs ago with my old JVC Pro Logic receiver.



Its there, believe me. My harman kardon 230 has this option, and it blows. Prologic II is much better. More realistic.


_________________________
*Michael*
AV123 Refugee - X-LS Encore, X-Voce, X-Omnis, Elt-Dpa's
Denon AVR-591
Magnavox NB500MGX BDP


Top
#123442 - 01/08/06 05:55 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6720
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

I'm not quite sure as to why it would be used either. With all the other options avalible that would be my last choice.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#123443 - 01/08/06 10:03 PM Re: 5 channel from pro logic
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10363
Yes, Lin, it certainly would be a good idea to use DPLII with two-channel source material, rather than DPL. The ambient material originally coming from the left and right is extracted from the mains and sent to the surrounds where it belongs.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.