Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
HG Rosewoods Part 3
Who's Online
0 registered (), 50 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13313 Members
11 Forums
22855 Topics
403814 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17755
pmbuko 16268
SirQuack 13325
CV 11171
MarkSJohnson 10856
Meanwhile On Facebook

Hurry - sale ends Sunday!

Get a Gift Card Worth 20% of Your Purchase! Save hundreds!

Got your new In-Ceiling speakers yet? #atmosready http://axiomaudio.com/m3-in-c...

(y) Can't wait for the next evolution of surround sound to go mainstream!

Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#124721 - 01/19/06 07:41 AM Re: Receiver Problem
ratpack Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/30/05
Posts: 1155
Loc: Alabama
Thanks bug. Yes, I have noticed the booming bass also. The old Kenwood has a feature on the remote where I can turn the bass down.

So, what you are saying, a "new" receiver will not cure this since it is a source problem.

One other thing that I am going to try is use just the 2 channel stereo mode.
_________________________
The Rat. M80s, VP-150, QS8s, SVS PC 20-39+, OPPO, Onkyo 703s, Harmony 880 Sony 60" SXRD HDTV

Top
#124722 - 01/19/06 09:08 AM Re: Receiver Problem
bugbitten Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/06/05
Posts: 2339
Loc: Madisonville, KY
The reciever answer is no and maybe.

No, it won't fix the source problem.

Maybe the Kenwwod has the ability to adjust DSPs.

The SXRD can change picture modes. You can adjust "Vivid, Standard, and Pro" to suit you. I change this mode depending on the program. I reduce the contrast on some HD programs where everybody is in a shadow.
I think my Denon can adjust different DSP modes. You can pick a DSP and adjust it for a particular channel or program. When that program airs, pick the DSP to match just like changing from "standard" to "pro". I've never done this, but maybe someone else with a Denon can clarify.

Top
#124723 - 01/19/06 10:06 AM Re: Receiver Problem
alan Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3186
Loc: Toronto/New York/Dwight
Rat,

You should be letting the Kenwood do the Dolby Digital decoding, not the Sony. Doesn't the Comcast box have an optical or coaxial digital output you can connect directly to the Kenwood? From what I understand, your Kenwood is doing analog ProLogic surround decoding from a left/right analog inputs from your TV, which in this day and age is pretty awful by comparison to clean Dolby Digital processed through a good A/V receiver decoder.

In any future upgrade, avoid Kenwood.

Comments on weird 5.1 broadcast audio mixes are right on. But the whole point of individual level controls for each channel is to let you adjust the center (or surround) levels for intelligibility. Some sportscasts I've watched are ludicrous. They mix the crowd noises very loud in the surrounds and the announcers so low you can't hear them. So lower the surround levels and raise the center! Don't get all locked into "calibration".

And yes, "24" was very bass heavy this week. So I turned down the EP500 sub level on my receiver by a few dB.

Regards,
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert

Top
#124724 - 01/19/06 10:13 AM Re: Receiver Problem
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17755
Loc: NoVA
But since he's not putting anything but already decoded left/right signals to the receiver, of course it's going to sound weird when processing is applied to it! A new receiver would fix this, not because of the ability to separately adjust levels, but because he would have more than one digital input.
_________________________
I didn't do it, no one saw me, you can't prove anything.

Top
#124725 - 01/19/06 10:25 AM Re: Receiver Problem
bugbitten Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/06/05
Posts: 2339
Loc: Madisonville, KY
He doesn't have a "box". His rf cable runs to his tv. (My too.)

The SXRD has a coax digital out or L/R out that carries the signal to the receiver. Since he doesn't have enough digital inputs, he is using the L/R connection.

Top
#124726 - 01/19/06 10:33 AM Re: Receiver Problem
alan Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3186
Loc: Toronto/New York/Dwight
Ken,

Of course, more digital inputs on a new receiver is the answer. But even with the old ProLogic processing, he should be able to adjust the channel levels for better balance.
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert

Top
#124727 - 01/19/06 10:52 AM Re: Receiver Problem
bugbitten Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/06/05
Posts: 2339
Loc: Madisonville, KY
On your 1090, under the video 2 (optical) connection, there are two more connections: video 3 and 4. Next to one is "AC-3 DIGITAL IN". Your Oppo has a coax digital out. Have you tried running a coax from the Oppo to one of the receiver inputs and then using the optical out on the tv to the Kenwood?

Both connections are digital, so it shouldn't make any difference which you use.


Edited by bugbitten (01/19/06 10:59 AM)

Top
#124728 - 01/19/06 10:57 AM Re: Receiver Problem
bugbitten Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/06/05
Posts: 2339
Loc: Madisonville, KY
In reply to:

The SXRD has a coax digital out




This should read Optical digital out...........sorry!

Top
#124729 - 01/19/06 11:40 AM Re: Receiver Problem
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17755
Loc: NoVA
But is the ProLogic processing going to get anything useful or appropriate out of an already decoded right and left signal of what is previously a multichannel stream?
_________________________
I didn't do it, no one saw me, you can't prove anything.

Top
#124730 - 01/19/06 11:47 AM Re: Receiver Problem
alan Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3186
Loc: Toronto/New York/Dwight
kcarlile,

That's what I was thinking about as I wrote my previous post. Maybe not. Since the Sony is decoding the discrete left, center, right and two surrounds plus an LFE, and Rat is feeding only the left and right analog to the Kenwood, then there may be only residual leakage of signal for the center and surrounds in the L/R signal. Just a theory.

Regards,
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.