Print Thread
Rate Thread
My New Axiom System - long
#12844 07/02/03 08:39 PM
hobbyist
OP Offline
hobbyist
Preface

First, I want to say that I am not an expert. I am just the average listener that likes a good sound system. Words like imaging, crossover, soundstage, phasing, etc. meant nothing to me before I started to research my purchase, and are still vague. That being said, I do know what a like in a speaker, and it was the reviews by fellow users as well as professionals that brought me to Axiom. I have always like a good sound system for music. I like clean sound and am not a big fan of bass, especially the booming kind. My prior, and still active, system for music was a set of DCM Timeframe 350's running through a Proton amplifier (not sure of the model #) with a Denon CD player. These were all purchased in 1983 and are still working (though I can hear a slight vibration coming from one of the speakers). The DCM's are tall and wide, but not deep, and have a very clean, detailed sound that I guess some would call bright (sound familiar?). I think they cost over $1000 new, but I'm not sure. I do remember paying over $2000 for the speakers, CD player and amp together. I have always liked the sound of those speakers.

The Decision