Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Re: Best Speaker Sys. Under 3000$ consideration wi
#136641 04/28/06 12:31 PM
buff
buff
I concur with almost everything being said here, with one exception:

If you do NOT have the room for a M60 as a vertical center, and are concerned about horizontal dispersion pattern of a horizontally oriented center (such as the M60 on its side, the VP150, or ANY MTM speaker for that matter), why not go with M60s, QS8s, etc like was suggested above, but for a center use an Axiom bookshelf, such as the M2, M3, or M22?

Disclaimer: I am still new at this, and haven't actually heard the VP 150, but do own M60s for my music duty. I only had room for floorstanders flanking my "stereo cabinet".

As to HT speakers, I was up against size and placement issues. Anyway, due to my odd layout, we all sit off center (some more than others) and in the past we had trouble following dialog sometimes. After much experimentation (3 center channels later), and finally some research, I ditched the horizontal center and the sold off my "micro system", and just purchased 5 matching "mini" bookshelf speakers, and am finally VERY pleased with the results.

-Alan

#136642 04/28/06 04:14 PM
M
connoisseur
connoisseur
M
I do not have the space under my screen for a center M80, so I went with two M22’s. I haven’t heard the VP’s so I can’t really comment to their performance. They may be wonderful speakers, I just don’t know.

Another option is two M2’s and lay them horizontally. I have done that before with twin M3’s and they sounded great. One benefit with two bookshelves as a center channel is you can position them in numerously different ways. They can both be horizontal above or below the screen/tv with their tweeter together, or apart. You can put one above the screen/tv and one below ether horizontally, or vertically. Lot’s of options.