Rate Thread
Page 2 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Re: Who Says Vinyl Is Dead
LT61 #141564 06/13/06 05:38 PM
T
axiomite
axiomite
T
Larry, I always appreciate your wisdom and God knows I have better things to do than be argumentative about recorded music formats. I'm not going to write an essay on why I think vinyl has outlived its usefulness; such an exercise would be fruitless and probably inflammatory.

But your observation about "warmth" piqued my curiosity. When was the last time you heard a LIVE progressive/hard electric rock band and marveled at the "warmth" of the guitars?

I'm not saying it's not pleasant, I'm not trying to pick a fight. I am still unable to throw away dozens of my LP's (although I rarely listen to them). I'm just suggesting that what some people like and enjoy about the Vinyl experience is attributable to mutations along the path rather than faithful reproduction of the source.

I'm no engineer, and I'm sure it's come up before. IS there a plausible technical explanation as to how/why vinyl might be better able to capture the live performance than digital media?

bibere usque ad hilaritatem
tomtuttle #141565 06/13/06 06:05 PM
aficionado
aficionado
Hello, Tom

I think for one to try to describe what something sounds like, is almost as hard as describing what a color looks like.....to a blind person.

Using logic, if cd digital sound was equal to the original analog source material, then there would be no need for all the re-masters, sacd, and other such attempts at improving the sound.....they would already have been the best possible, you cannot improve on the source.

Larry

LIFE: "Choices, balance, and timing"

(Larryism)
LT61 #141566 06/13/06 07:51 PM
shareholder in the making
Quote: