Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
HG Rosewoods Part 3
Who's Online
2 registered (Captain4105, CV), 51 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13304 Members
11 Forums
22842 Topics
403612 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17751
pmbuko 16267
SirQuack 13321
CV 11160
MarkSJohnson 10848
Meanwhile On Facebook

Get a Gift Card Worth 20% of Your Purchase! Save hundreds!

Got your new In-Ceiling speakers yet? #atmosready http://axiomaudio.com/m3-in-c...

(y) Can't wait for the next evolution of surround sound to go mainstream!

Pre-order our new in-ceiling speakers and save 25%! Offer ends August 11th.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#144582 - 08/03/06 09:47 AM Do I need an external DAC?
JServ Offline
buff

Registered: 11/24/03
Posts: 45
Loc: Virginia
Greetings all! I have a 2 channel system setup in my office that I have connected to my PC using the onboard coaxial connection. I understand that this method uses the DAC inside my receiver (current being used as a pre/pro)...recently however, I decided to dump the AV receiver for a dedicated 2-channel pre-amp. The problem I am having is that the majority of pre-amps in my price range don't have digital inputs...meaning I would be forced to use the analog outputs.

...now this brought me to the idea of buying an exterenal DAC, but upon looking into to these I am seeing some ridiculously high priced units. I know you pay for quality, but I don't want to spend $1500 on a external DAC when my entire setup only costs $2000 - $2500.

I mainly playback lossless classical and rock music, if that helps at all.

Essentially I am just looking for an external DAC the most affordable external DAC that won't be a bottleneck in my system...I just don't want to buy something that is way more than I need.

System:

Axiom m80ti (2)
Harman Kardon AVR-630 used as pre/pro
Rotel RB-1080 amplifier

A few external DAC's I have stumbled across are these:

http://www.firestone-audio.com/cgi-bin/productsearch.asp?catseqnm=3
http://www.ifiaudio.com/gm.html
http://www.slimdevices.com/pi_squeezebox.html

It seems like the squeezebox @ $250 gets decent reviews, but I don't need all the features it provides...just a nice, clean, wired pc to pre-amp connection. I figure there must be a wired external DAC of similar sound quality out there for less than $250...maybe not though. Help!

Top
#144583 - 08/03/06 12:04 PM Re: Do I need an external DAC? [Re: JServ]
JaimeG Offline
aficionado

Registered: 12/25/02
Posts: 556
Loc: Ashburn, VA
If I understood correctly, you only need to connect your PC to a 2-ch receiver w/out digital inputs, right?
I have this from SB fairly cheap $40US you may even find it for less online. Although I mostly use it just to send the spdif to my receiver, I’ve connected it using the box DAC and it sound very good.
_________________________
The sailor does not pray for wind, he learns to sail. --Lindborg

Top
#144584 - 08/03/06 12:14 PM Re: Do I need an external DAC? [Re: JaimeG]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17751
Loc: NoVA
I would assume that your PC has analog outs. You might try those just for comparison purposes (double blind, natch!) before dropping big bucks on an external DAC.
_________________________
I didn't do it, no one saw me, you can't prove anything.

Top
#144585 - 08/03/06 12:42 PM Re: Do I need an external DAC? [Re: JServ]
chrono Offline
old hand

Registered: 06/24/03
Posts: 89
Loc: Toronto, ON
Wouldn't another solution to be replace your computer's current sound card with one that has better quality audio, even if it is analog? I am using an M-Audio Delta 44 which is actually a production level soundcard, with 1/4" outputs, and the sound quality really is perfect. It cost over $500, but M-Audio has a pretty wide range of soundcards, even in the consumer level. I can't reach their site right now, but try looking into them if replacing your soundcard sounds like a doable solution. www.m-audio.com

Top
#144586 - 08/03/06 12:50 PM Re: Do I need an external DAC? [Re: chrono]
JServ Offline
buff

Registered: 11/24/03
Posts: 45
Loc: Virginia
Certainly a pci soundcard is an option. I was reading about ways of connecting PC's to audio systems over at the audioasylum forums, and they seemed to think that internal soundcards are inherently flawed due to their close proximity to so many electronic components.

...I'm thinking the guys over there might be a bit more picky then I am. I suppose it makes sense to try out a decent pci card before dumping much cash on a external DAC.
_________________________
-- my setup -- Axiom: m80ti(2), vp150, vp100, qs4(2), hsu vtf-2 Harman Kardon: avr-630, dvd22

Top
#144587 - 08/03/06 01:04 PM Re: Do I need an external DAC? [Re: JServ]
chrono Offline
old hand

Registered: 06/24/03
Posts: 89
Loc: Toronto, ON
That's why there are soundcards with external break out boxes. In my research, if the interal card is placed in the farthest slot from the videocard and processor, and an external breakout box is used for the input/output connections.. there shouldn't be a problem. And as far as I know, the problem with having the sound card close to the other components, such as the videocard, is that it creates slight bg static, lowering the s/n ratio. At least with my soundcard, I have noticed no issues with the s/n ratio at all, and even if I turn my stereo up to unlistenable levels, I don't hear any white noise or static at all, with nothing playing.

Now, I guess it depends on your computer system, and if you have to place the internal soundcard right beside the processor / video card. Anyways, it would still be better than an onboard soundcard that is part of the motherboard though, which is definately close to the other components.

Top
#144588 - 08/03/06 01:06 PM Re: Do I need an external DAC? [Re: chrono]
chrono Offline
old hand

Registered: 06/24/03
Posts: 89
Loc: Toronto, ON
Oh and I was just checking around, and it seems like sound cards really came down in price over the last 3 or 4 years. The Delta 44 is now around $150 - $200 , and I'm sure there are new even better ones.

Top
#144589 - 08/03/06 03:07 PM Re: Do I need an external DAC? [Re: chrono]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16267
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
You could just wrap your card in foil to shield it from RF noise.
_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
#144590 - 08/03/06 03:27 PM Re: Do I need an external DAC? [Re: pmbuko]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17751
Loc: NoVA
Well, that certainly explains all the power failures and shorted out stuff in this office...
_________________________
I didn't do it, no one saw me, you can't prove anything.

Top
#144591 - 08/03/06 03:55 PM Re: Do I need an external DAC? [Re: Ken.C]
mrnomas Offline
old hand

Registered: 02/16/05
Posts: 86
Loc: Florida
Office fires make life interesting. I highly recommend them.
_________________________
Professional Axiom Lurker

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.