Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
3 registered (CatBrat, Ken.C, J. B.), 48 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13317 Members
11 Forums
22877 Topics
404360 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17775
pmbuko 16273
SirQuack 13333
CV 11200
MarkSJohnson 10886
Meanwhile On Facebook

So much going on in this month's newsletter - new product announcements, a new v...

Love this comment from Doug T! "The M22 bookshelf speakers sound so clean and a...

󾓶 Andrew has spoken! Big update on the AxiomPlay Wireless Platform on the Axiom...

A New Look For Our Amps and Pre-amps? Adding yet another level of customization...

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#147853 - 09/18/06 01:08 PM Running two sets of mains
Stymie Offline
veteran

Registered: 08/17/06
Posts: 132
Loc: Edge of Distraction
I tried searching on this but I'm probably not searching for the right terms. Let's say you wanted to run two sets of mains (M80s for example) and you have mono blocks for each speaker. Is it a simple matter of running the preouts into y cables and then to the amps? The left preout would feed a pair of amps via a y cable and subsequently a pair of M80s and the right preout would do the same.

Another option would be to only use a pair of amps with the speakers run in series. This would create a 2 Ohm load on each amp (I believe) and would assume the amps could handle the 2 Ohm load.

Is one better than the other? Another option?

Stymie
_________________________



Top
#147854 - 09/18/06 02:16 PM Re: Running two sets of mains [Re: Stymie]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16273
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
If you want to run both pairs of mains simultaneously, then splitting the pre-outs via a Y-cable is probably the best solution. Keep in mind that when you split a signal like that, each branch of the split will receive a weaker signal. This isn't usually a problem since you can just turn up the volume.

As to running the speakers in series, it would actually double the ohm rating (totalling 8 Ohms), not halve it. Running speakers in series is not recommended because as the signal passes from the first speaker to the second, the resistance of the first speaker changes the signal. So the signal going into the first speaker in the line won't be identical to the signal entering the second speaker.

A series connection looks like this:

AMP <====> Speaker 1 <====> Speaker 2

What you'd want to do is run the speakers in parallel. This prevents the two speakers from interacting, but it does halve the resistance (effective 2 Ohm resistance).

A parallel connection looks like this:

Speaker 1 <====> AMP <====> Speaker 2
_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
#147855 - 09/18/06 04:37 PM Re: Running two sets of mains [Re: pmbuko]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16273
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
A little birdie told me my serial and parallel diagrams are a bit misleading so I'm making a correction. Here's a better illustration.


_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
#147856 - 09/18/06 04:37 PM Re: Running two sets of mains [Re: pmbuko]
Stymie Offline
veteran

Registered: 08/17/06
Posts: 132
Loc: Edge of Distraction
Thanks! I had the right idea, but used the wrong terminology. I was thinking parallel and used series. At least I was on the right track.

As long as both sets are identical, are there any drawbacks to running two sets of mains assuming the equipment is adequate? Any frequency cancellation or things like that?
_________________________



Top
#147857 - 09/18/06 04:42 PM Re: Running two sets of mains [Re: Stymie]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16273
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
Are you going to have them in the same room? What arrangement are you thinking of?
_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
#147858 - 09/18/06 05:08 PM Re: Running two sets of mains [Re: pmbuko]
Stymie Offline
veteran

Registered: 08/17/06
Posts: 132
Loc: Edge of Distraction
Same room. Most of this is planning ahead for a what if scenario. But just in case it comes to fruition, I want to be prepared.

It's also based on timing. If were to get my hands on a second set of M80s while I'm in my current location, I had thought about putting the second set on top of the first set, but inverted. (tweeter to tweeter) This would basically create a pair of M160s (sort of).

The more likely scenario would be for a much larger room with them set up in normal fashion with approximately 10' between them. M80(L2) - 10' - M80(L1) - 10' - M80(R1) - 10' - M80(R2)
_________________________



Top
#147859 - 09/18/06 05:15 PM Re: Running two sets of mains [Re: Stymie]
Ken.C Online   content
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17775
Loc: NoVA
Good lord! How big is the room?!


Oh yeah.

Tweet.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#147860 - 09/18/06 05:33 PM Re: Running two sets of mains [Re: Ken.C]
Stymie Offline
veteran

Registered: 08/17/06
Posts: 132
Loc: Edge of Distraction
It's a finished basement, ~30'x~50'.
_________________________



Top
#147861 - 09/18/06 05:35 PM Re: Running two sets of mains [Re: Stymie]
Ken.C Online   content
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17775
Loc: NoVA

_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#147862 - 09/18/06 05:39 PM Re: Running two sets of mains [Re: Stymie]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16273
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
That sort of spacing will really interfere with your imaging. Many speaker manufacturers go to great lengths to ensure that the drivers in the speakers are "time corrected" - meaning the soundwaves from each driver in a cabinet will reach your ear at the same time. By having the like-channel speakers set apart by 10 feet, the sound from the inner speakers will reach your ears sooner than the sound from the outer speakers. (How much sooner depends on how close you are sitting, of course.)

If you really want to double up the channels, keep the like-channels side by side.


Edited by pmbuko (09/18/06 05:43 PM)
_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.