Page 1 of 2 1 2
Please Help me Select Bedroom Speakers
#165472 04/15/07 08:44 PM
D
regular
OP Offline
regular
D
I’m a total newbie to Axiom. I’d really appreciate any help the forum members can give me in configuring a home theatre setup to be installed in a bedroom of my new home.

My wife and I like to watch TV in bed. (I know, I know, but we’ve been married for a while!) Our viewing is mostly network shows in HD from satellite and DVD’s once or twice a week. We prefer the sound level to be low-medium, as best I can characterize it. We’re not that big into action movies. I wouldn’t call myself an audiophile, but I enjoy music, and like the sound to have some presence.

The bedroom itself is about 14 feet deep and 15 ½ feet wide. Ceiling height is 9 ½ feet, so room volume is about 2000 cu ft. There are lots of hard surfaces – the floor is ceramic tile, the walls are plaster over brick, and the ceiling is drywall. There is a large window on the left wall that is usually left half open with a screen. The window has no curtains. The only sound absorbent surfaces are the bed itself.

The TV will be placed on the opposite wall from the bed, slightly offset. The location of doors makes speaker placement less than ideal.

Here's a photo of the TV wall:

Here are some specific issues that I have.

1. Front left and right speakers.

The doorway to the closet makes positioning of the front right speaker difficult. The wall to the right of the door (perpendicular to the TV wall) is pre-wired with speaker terminals.

The solution with the best Wife Acceptance Factor is W22 in wall/on wall speakers. They would look best and not block the closet doorway. I’m doubtful however, that the sound would be acceptable, because the sound would be directed across the front of the TV and not towards the bed. Any comments on this would be appreciated.