amps
#1727 02/20/02 02:06 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
I am just beginning on the long road toward audiophilia with a pair of m22ti's. I'm just wondering if anyone might share their experiences with amps (tube or ss). There seems to be a relgious/atheist split, so objectivity (though all good sound is personal, I suppose) is hard to come by.
I'm saving now to buy a decent receiver (leaning towards a NAD), and I'm also unsure if I should weigh my choice according to what amp I eventually find.
Last, I want to give my thanks to Alan and BBIBH for cutting to the chase on cable gear.

Thanks,
Peter

Re: amps
#1728 02/20/02 02:53 AM
connoisseur
Online Content
connoisseur
You are more than welcome! It is nice to find new people interested in a hobby I have enjoyed for many, many years. Cables are a well discussed point in audio circles, as are tubes and less so these days - vinyl.

I have both types of amplifiers, and can provide feedback as to your questions. So if you have anything specific, ask away!

The NAD is a good product, and will not disappoint. You have not provided any information as to what you are looking for. The requirements you have may alter your short list, with budget playing a major part. I am not sure what you mean by " I'm also unsure if I should weigh my choice according to what amp I eventually find."

Maybe we can provide comments and a general direction.

Regards,

BBIBH

#1729 02/20/02 05:42 AM
A
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
A
My vague inquiry really shows how new I am at the game. After quite a bit of searching, I'm now beginning to notice the finer points of audio (rolling off of bass, fuzzy high end, etc.), whereas before I took speaker sound for granted unless it was terrible or really awsome.