Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
2 registered (Wid, newf), 50 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13328 Members
11 Forums
22920 Topics
405202 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17789
pmbuko 16289
SirQuack 13340
CV 11236
MarkSJohnson 10941
Meanwhile On Facebook

Did you get your "Golden Email"? The great gift certificate email giveaway star...

Here's a helpful article for everyone looking at putting a new stereo or home th...

Interesting article about who's getting the money from streaming radio services...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#173762 - 08/04/07 08:03 PM Move from m60 to m2 in my HT?
autoboy Offline
veteran

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 118
Loc: Palo Alto, California
I'm thinking of moving my m60s to my living room so I can get full range sound in there. I'm thinking a pair of m2s can replace them in my HT.

I always wondered why I bought towers and crossed them over at 80hz when I could have saved a bunch of money and just gotten a pair of bookshelves on stands.

My system:
m60
vp100
qs8
SVS PB12-NSD
Sony Receiver
80% movies
20% casual music listening

What will I miss when I go to the smaller speakers? Will I lose the soundstage? Will I have a bass hole because the SVS sub begins to fall off at 80hz? Will I lose mid bass accuracy?

Top
#173763 - 08/04/07 09:03 PM Re: Move from m60 to m2 in my HT? [Re: autoboy]
chesseroo Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/13/02
Posts: 4832
Loc: western canada
Quote:

I always wondered why I bought towers and crossed them over at 80hz when I could have saved a bunch of money and just gotten a pair of bookshelves on stands.



Not really.
I've tried the M22 and sub combo and own the M60 and EP350.
The M22s just were not enough, small thin sound which although was great quality, it did little to impress me. The M60s really filled the room, much greater sound, more presence, far more prominent midrange. It truly is the big brother to the M22.

Simply put, the comparison is large sound vs. small sound.
The sub is not a great substitute IMO for a full size tower's capabilities.
_________________________
"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."

Top
#173764 - 08/05/07 01:06 AM Re: Move from m60 to m2 in my HT? [Re: chesseroo]
autoboy Offline
veteran

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 118
Loc: Palo Alto, California
What makes the sound "bigger?" Is it the presence of the mid bass? The drivers are the same on the m2 and m22 as the m60 except for the 6.5s.

Oh, also, my room is 15x15 with a 12ft vaulted ceiling with the sitting postion at 10ft.

I'm trying to save some money by not going with full size speakers. Also, the m60's look big in my room. I can see the full depth of the left speaker from the kitchen and it spoils the room a little bit.

I am willing to give up a small amount of musical ability for this change, but I really don't want too much of a change for 5.1

Top
#173765 - 08/05/07 09:27 AM Re: Move from m60 to m2 in my HT? [Re: autoboy]
Wid Online   confused
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6722
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.

Try some M3s, they might be better for your application and budget while still saving you some big $$$.
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#173766 - 08/05/07 11:02 AM Re: Move from m60 to m2 in my HT? [Re: autoboy]
chesseroo Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/13/02
Posts: 4832
Loc: western canada
Quote:

What makes the sound "bigger?" Is it the presence of the mid bass? The drivers are the same on the m2 and m22 as the m60 except for the 6.5s.



You answered your own question, with an added component of larger box size.
Making sound is about moving air. Larger drivers, larger cabinet, more air movement.

However, given your relatively small room, i would not have recommended M60s. You really need to sit a reasonable distance away to form a good stereo image, unless it is a one person sitting room or you have a small loveseat located around 8-10' plus away. The smaller speakers will fare better in a smaller room for setting up a good stereo or surround image.

If you have the chance to demo the M60 vs the M22, you will clearly see what i'm referring to as their difference in sound. The quality, tonal character is very similar. The best description i can provide is that the M60 is definitely the 'big brother' to the M22.
_________________________
"Those who preach the myths of audio are ignorant of truth."

Top
#173767 - 08/05/07 02:05 PM Re: Move from m60 to m2 in my HT? [Re: chesseroo]
autoboy Offline
veteran

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 118
Loc: Palo Alto, California
I kinda talked myself into the m60s because I had wanted full size speakers for so long. I ran them without a subwoofer for awhile and they sounded fantastic. When I added the sub it added a significant tactile feel to the low end, but the m60s still can shake the room by themselves. Now that I have a pool table in the other room, I wanted to switch the m60s to that room which is 17x35. They can still fill the room with enough bass that I don't need a sub in there.

So, I was really thinking the m2s would be my first choice but I would be willing to consider the larger m22s. Some say the m22s are brutally honest and can become fatiguing. I'm partial to the small size of the m2s but it seems not many people run them as their mains. I just wanna make sure I don't make a wrong move. I can always get some m3s and a sub for the pool table and leave the m60s as they stand if that would be a better choice.

I am in Los Altos CA if anyone wants to bring their m2s over. I suppose I could just order some m2s and send them back if they don't work out.

Top
#173768 - 08/05/07 03:11 PM Re: Move from m60 to m2 in my HT? [Re: autoboy]
Mojo Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 3292
When you say that the M60s shake your room, what amp are you using exactly?

Top
#173769 - 08/05/07 07:41 PM Re: Move from m60 to m2 in my HT? [Re: Mojo]
autoboy Offline
veteran

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 118
Loc: Palo Alto, California
I'm using the amp in my Sony STR-DB840. They don't shake the room like the SVS sub, but they did an admirable job for 6 months. Enough to consider not getting a sub...until I actually got a real sub and found out what I was missing.

Top
#173770 - 08/05/07 07:55 PM Re: Move from m60 to m2 in my HT? [Re: autoboy]
Mojo Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/21/07
Posts: 3292
Well, maybe you have a very "pliable" room . There's no way I can get my Denon/M80s to shake my 4,000 cubic foot, tightly constructed room without making me deaf. For the shaking, I use the 600.

Top
#173771 - 08/05/07 10:04 PM Re: Move from m60 to m2 in my HT? [Re: Mojo]
autoboy Offline
veteran

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 118
Loc: Palo Alto, California
It is a spec style home built to look good but not the greatest construction. I was scared the pool table would fall through the floor. So far so good but I haven't had 6 naked girls dancing on it just yet

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.