Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
2 registered (Murph, MarkSJohnson), 127 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13323 Members
11 Forums
22898 Topics
404622 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17782
pmbuko 16280
SirQuack 13337
CV 11208
MarkSJohnson 10901
Meanwhile On Facebook

󾓶 The first review of the LFR880s is out! "If you are adding or upgrading stere...

So much going on in this month's newsletter - new product announcements, a new v...

Love this comment from Doug T! "The M22 bookshelf speakers sound so clean and a...

Page 3 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#18030 - 08/22/03 07:58 PM Re: Ain't WiFi great?
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16280
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
As long as we're on this wifi security subject, here's another tip for everyone.

For god's sake, don't plug your wi-fi access point into a hub! I recommend using only switches in most cases, but especially this one. You don't want your wired traffic being broadcast into the airwaves as well.


_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
#18031 - 08/22/03 10:30 PM Re: Ain't WiFi great?
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17782
Loc: NoVA
A brief note: even with a switch, there is broadcast traffic. It's best to use a WiFi on a DMZ port. In much smaller (most?) installations, use the WiFi router as the router for the network where possible.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#18032 - 08/26/03 09:42 AM Re: Ain't WiFi great?
DanTana Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/06/03
Posts: 162
Loc: Chicago, Illinois
One objection to using it on a DMZ is that it then becomes more visible to the outside world. A few good reasons to use a DMZ is for web or e-mail servers, or possibly a VPN, if you keep the wireless behind or within your router I think is the best choice. If you use NAT (Network Address Translation) then it is even more difficult to get into your network. One idea we were thinking here is using a server to authenticate wireless accounts to allow access to the trusted network. Separating them by using VLAN security which the Cisco AP's support with firmware 12.00 and up.

Top
#18033 - 08/26/03 12:05 PM Re: Ain't WiFi great?
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17782
Loc: NoVA
Hmm. One of our network guys is recommending it for the client I'm at right now (waiting for someone to show). I wonder what his response to that would be. He had a good reason when he explained it to me... Why would it be more visible to the outside world? The DMZ is just another port on the firewall. I don't see a way to hook up the wireless to anything without a switch or hub without putting it on a separate network, such as the DMZ. NAT is not really security, it is just obfuscation. However, the last line of yours sounds pretty good to me.
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#18034 - 08/26/03 01:32 PM Re: Ain't WiFi great?
DanTana Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/06/03
Posts: 162
Loc: Chicago, Illinois
The DMZ is another port on the firewall but specifically to make for easier access from outside of it. Hence web servers and e-mail server access. Doesn't make sense to put a access point on it, unless you can filter ports going in both ways to your trusted and outside networks. But then you'd have to be using something like Cisco PIX or Nokia firewalls. But putting such a device there can make the temptation of getting into it that much greater, and potentially easier to hack from the outside without having to know the SID or WEP keys. Simply telnet into it and change the keys from outside the network unless your firewall blocks port 23. All our webservers, VPN's and e-mail servers reside in the DMZ here. But we use Nokia firewalls to block traffic both ways in/out of it.

Top
#18035 - 08/26/03 06:12 PM Re: Ain't WiFi great?
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17782
Loc: NoVA
We're working with SonicWalls. I'll have to check with my guys about whether this is reasonable. I'm still learning the network stuff!
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#18036 - 08/26/03 06:52 PM Re: Ain't WiFi great?
Zarak Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/09/03
Posts: 1849
Loc: PA
SonicWalls seem to work pretty well...until they start dying on you.

Top
#18037 - 08/26/03 07:25 PM Re: Ain't WiFi great?
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17782
Loc: NoVA
Had one die on me a few weeks ago. It was a 100. They replaced it after we reinstated the warranty with a 320. Not too shabby.,..
_________________________
I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!

Top
#18038 - 08/26/03 10:52 PM Re: Ain't WiFi great?
Zarak Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/09/03
Posts: 1849
Loc: PA
Yeah, I work for a consulting company and we were installing them for clients for a while, but too many seemed to die after a year or two. Low end firewall installs are PIX now. Raptor for the better ones.

Top
#18039 - 09/03/03 02:19 PM Need help...please speak slowly
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8290
Loc: Tacoma
Dear friends,

We recently moved to a new house (good). Qwest is still our dsl/phone provider (must...control...fist...of...death...). Where we want to put the computer, there is no phone jack (annoying). So, I'm thinking of taking the wi-fi plunge in anticipation of also getting a wireless laptop in the not-too-distant future.

So, can anybody help me with specific SoHo wireless router or access point model advice? I have a Cisco dsl modem and a Netgear firewall/router now. The plan is to put the modem and wireless thingy in an upstairs bedroom and add a wireless PCI card to the main PC in the living room and possibly to the one in the kids room.

Keep in mind that the more I spend on networking, the less I have to spend on home theatre. Maybe I should just run cat5 everywhere anyway...

I only aspire to your geekdom, so be gentle. TIA for sharing your wisdom and guidance.
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
Page 3 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.