Print Thread
Rate Thread
Hardware Connections
#1829 02/26/02 04:28 AM
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Hey there,
I'm a newbie to HT and was wondering about hardware connections. Assuming a TV-to-receiver connection to listen to TV over HT system: is it best to have video connections running straight from players (DVD, VCR) to TV and the audio connections running directly from players to the receiver, or send all signals to the receiver with audio and video out to the TV (or to TV with audio out to receiver)? It seems that direct connects would be most desirable when possible, though routing all connects to either the TV or the receiver and then adding the final connection between the monitor and receiver might be cleaner. Thanks for any thoughts :)

lando
Re: Hardware Connections
#1830 02/27/02 12:47 AM
old hand
old hand
Welcome to Home Theater.

You are correct that the best way to hook up your video sources is straight to your TV. Unfortunately many of us do not have TV's with enough connections on the back. That is where a receivers video switching abilities come into play.

If you are going to use your receiver for video switching, make sure it uses high quality components. Many "less expensive" receivers use inferior video switching components and your picture will be affected.

Surf around for a while on www.hometheaterforum.com and you will have more knowledge on this subject than you ever imagined.

Enjoy!

B_man

#1831 02/27/02 01:23 AM
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
b-man,
Three words about the link you sent.... O My God
I thought my wife would freak about the sites I was already looking at!
Thanks for your comments. I will plan on going from my DVD & VCR players directly to the TV for video, and from all equipment to my receiver for audio to keep things as direct as possible. Have a good one!
Rob

lando
#1832 02/28/02 12:26 AM
old hand
old hand
Glad to help. Enjoy the hobby.

b_man

#1833 02/28/02 10:57 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
Hello,