Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
2 registered (St_PatGuy, MarkSJohnson), 125 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13322 Members
11 Forums
22897 Topics
404609 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17782
pmbuko 16280
SirQuack 13337
CV 11208
MarkSJohnson 10900
Meanwhile On Facebook

󾓶 The first review of the LFR880s is out! "If you are adding or upgrading stere...

So much going on in this month's newsletter - new product announcements, a new v...

Love this comment from Doug T! "The M22 bookshelf speakers sound so clean and a...

󾓶 Andrew has spoken! Big update on the AxiomPlay Wireless Platform on the Axiom...

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#1922 - 03/03/02 06:34 PM M22 ohms
reason1 Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 01/27/02
Posts: 16
I'm leaning towards M22s as mains and a VP150 center, not sure about the surrounds yet.

My question is about the VP150 which the website says is 6 ohms but I thought I saw a post where someone from Axiom said it was more like 5.5. My receiver's (Onkyo 696) manual says that if all speakers are not 6 or greater I need to set it to 4 ohms (there are only two settings 4 and 6). What exactly are the implications of this? Does changing this impact the performance of the receiver?



Top
#1923 - 03/05/02 06:11 AM Re: M22 ohms
Ian Offline
President
aficionado

Registered: 03/13/01
Posts: 808
You will definitely want to set your receiver to the 6-ohm setting. Impedance in a speaker varies widely with frequency so rated impedances are nominal. The VP150 is a very easy load for the amplifier because of where and how long the impedance curve dips below 6 ohms. Normally these impedance switches in amplifiers will make the amplifier see the 4-ohm load as a 6-ohm load. I would guess that setting the receiver to the 4 ohm position would only result in needing to turn the volume up higher to achieve the same output.

Ian Colquhoun
President & Chief Engineer
_________________________
Ian Colquhoun
President & Chief Engineer

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.