Print Thread
Rate Thread
Please Help! What caused this problem?
#20240 09/19/03 03:05 AM
dajlc Offline OP
hobbyist
OP Offline
hobbyist
I'm using a NADT761 receiver, Monitor Audio S8 speakers, JVC DVD Player. Have always been enjoying my music and movie dvds until it happens. All of a sudden.... the volume from the left speaker became very low. Thinking that the dvd was a dud, I played another but the problem remained. I then switched the left/right speaker connections to the receiver and the low volume moved to the right speaker instead of the left - indicating that my speakers are alright. I then played a cd and the problem disappeared! Everything sounded normal again!

Now, I'm no audiotech expert but following further advice from more experienced users, I did the following:-
- Cleared dust that might have accumulated in the receiver by using a can of compressed air.
- Rechecked all audio connections.

After all that, when I played the dvds, the problem comes on and off intermittently and it is really driving me crazy! Could someone please advise on what could be the cause of this problem? Is it my receiver or my dvd player? I'm desperate to get it fixed so that my life can be normal again.

Thanks

Last edited by dajlc; 09/19/03 03:09 AM.

dajlc
Re: Please Help! What caused this problem?
#20241 09/19/03 03:34 AM
connoisseur
connoisseur
If you have another player ie. CD player or borrow another CD/DVD player from a friend. If it doesnt happen then its your receiver.

Did you ever plug that lower ports with those foam bungs. I found the Silver line sounded/imaged better with the lower ports plugged. The bass on those puppies at high level was a little overbearing the mids and highs.
Just try it out and see which you like it. It pretty much a personal preference from every individual.

Saturn

#20242 09/19/03 04:33 AM
connoisseur
connoisseur
In addition to Saturn's suggestion of trying another player...