Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Our Newest Flagship Model: The M100

Why We Make Our Own Drivers

Wall'O'Fame
"Serenity Cinema", now with 40% extra Serenity!
Updated as requested.
Who's Online
5 registered (Zarak, brwsaw, Lampshade, FrankeeD, Wid), 123 Guests and 20 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
12652 Members
11 Forums
22679 Topics
400340 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17695
pmbuko 16220
SirQuack 13309
CV 11053
MarkSJohnson 10666
Meanwhile On Facebook

8| Don't miss Andrew Welker's post on our message boards about the new subwoofer...

󾓲 The April Newsletter is out! Did you get your copy? http://www.axiomaudio.co...

Double-take! :O How well do you know our line? First one to spot the surprise...

Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#217763 - 08/10/08 05:20 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: michael_d]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4840
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Definitely a learning curve on this thing.

This was my first HT receiver to ever own though, and I was able to figure everything out ok.
_________________________
-David

Top
#217862 - 08/12/08 12:03 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: terzaghi]
Da_Gimp_Pimp Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 3972
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
So I ran Audyssey and then I went into manual setup for speaker distances and my subwoofer was set to 22 ft, I'm assuming Audyssey did this. I readjusted it to 12 ft which is correct for the main listening position; should I have done this or is it set up like this for the various listening positions?

Thanks
Cam
_________________________
I dream of finding a really hot girlfriend that's mute!

Top
#217865 - 08/12/08 12:10 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: Da_Gimp_Pimp]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6612
Loc: PEI, Canada
Yup, normal behavior, it seems, for Audyssey and subs. Good eye. I adjusted mine to the correct distance for my main listening position but I seem to recall someone saying to leave it as it's a correction for phase or something.

OK I'll just mark this as edited because I can't remember which is the correct course of action.

Obviously, I need a coffee. Be right back.


Edited by Murph (08/12/08 12:17 PM)
Edit Reason: confused myself.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#217868 - 08/12/08 12:25 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: Murph]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3820
Loc: Up yonder
Rule of thumb I use for sub distance is to add 8 feet to the actual distance. It has something to do with processing of information at the sub. John knows....

Also, it's not Audysey that sets these distances and delays. Audysey is the EQ software for room correction. Audysey just works with the AVR's auto set up.
_________________________


Top
#217869 - 08/12/08 12:26 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: Murph]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6612
Loc: PEI, Canada
OK instead of coffee I did some searching. To summarize several older posts.

Edited to the read [The Amps Set up Software] has trouble with subs containing a DSP processor and ofter greatly exaggerates the distance. However, some recommended that when adjusting it back, you still leave 3 to 6 feet extra to compensate for the delay caused by the DSP processor.

A couple of sub experts will likely have better explanations and advice soon. I just needed to go back and re-read as to why I was confused.

Final Edit: See I told ya one would be here soon. Sniped me while I typed.


Edited by Murph (08/12/08 12:28 PM)
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#217873 - 08/12/08 12:56 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: Murph]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4840
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
I think that rule only applies for DSP based sub like the ep500..


_________________________
-David

Top
#217882 - 08/12/08 01:34 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: terzaghi]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6612
Loc: PEI, Canada
Thus my words "subs containing a DSP processor".
;\)
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#217883 - 08/12/08 01:36 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: Murph]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3820
Loc: Up yonder
It's not just DSP related, but all powered subs. The DSP adds more needed delay than others is all.
_________________________


Top
#217886 - 08/12/08 02:04 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: michael_d]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4840
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Thought I had added an edit statement that said "oops, didn't read murph's post first" but I must have forget to click submit!
_________________________
-David

Top
#217887 - 08/12/08 02:05 PM Re: Well I pulled the plug on a AVR-3808!! Setup [Re: terzaghi]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11053
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
I've always had trouble with submission.
_________________________
SuperGrand UltraDeluxe (Plus Extra More)

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.