Rate Thread
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
Reciever Opinions?
#22058 10/14/03 02:47 PM
local
OP Offline
local
I was reading the AVS Forums and saw a post that basically recommended the:
Epic Master Home Theater (minus sub) combined with one of HSU's impending subs as a good quality speaker setup.

Assuming that some of the folks here probably have these speakers, could anyone recommend an appropriate reciever?

I'm fairly new to all this if it's not obvious enough...

Thanks,

Nick

My M60's make me listen
My M80's make my ears hear
Either way - I'm not deaf anymore
Re: Reciever Opinions?
#22059 10/14/03 03:31 PM
buff
buff
What's your budget for the receiver? That's the first thing we need to know. The Epic Master set can take some juice.

I'm sort of in the same boat as you. I have started shopping for a new mid-range (under $1,100) receiver myself. I currently have a Kenwood VR-409, which is basically a standard B&M type receiver. It's decent though; it'll hold me over until I decide what I want to get.

And until I save some moolah!

#22060 10/14/03 03:57 PM
local
OP Offline
local
I'm not sure. I wouldn't imagine I'll spend more than $800-$1200 for a reciever. The truth is, like most men I'd love to have the fanciest of everything. And I greatly enjoy music & movies. I would say I have a fairly keen eye and ear as well. But I don't think I'm the sort to really get into the hardcore equipment, setup, and configuration because I have too many other interests that strain my budget and time.

My goal will be to have a good quality plasma TV, with a pleasant sounding music/movie setup in a cool to hang out in rec room in my eventual house.

I'm not even sure what all I'll need to be honest.

My list so far:

Speakers
Receiver
DVD Player
Plasma TV
HDTV receiver for my Directv
Assorted Appropriate Wires

I don't even know what else I'll need. I'm probably quite naive.

-Nick

My M60's make me listen
#22061 10/14/03 04:18 PM
buff
buff