Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 10 1 2 3 9 10
HT Installation
#229171 11/10/08 01:27 AM
aficionado
OP Offline
aficionado
Speakers will be coming soon (supposed to ship tomorrow, I'll be watching my email), any recommendations for hiring an installer? I don't see myself running wires through the walls or mounting the surrounds since I have no experience, although I suppose it would be doable, given that there's an open attic above.

Do Best Buy or Circuit City do a good job?

Should I play with the location of the surrounds to see what they sound like before hiring someone to mount them permanently?

Thanks for any and all ideas.

"If you try to turn toward it, you go against it."
Re: HT Installation
SatKartr #229176 11/10/08 01:40 AM
shareholder in the making
shareholder in the making
To your second question, yes, do play with the location before you mount them.

I am the Doctor, and THIS... is my SPOON!
Ken.C #229178 11/10/08 01:51 AM
connoisseur
connoisseur
SK - I think the Best Buy and CC crews vary significantly from one location to another. My experience with BB's custom install shop was not impressive, but in my case it came down to poor customer service more than technical incompetence.

Long story short, I paid $100 for their in-home consultation. They came, did a big review (and the guy who came seemed competent, though he had a very limited selection of equipment from which he chose his recommendations -- i.e. things Best Buy sold lots of). Thereafter, I never heard from him again with his final recommendations and proposal. After 2 weeks, I went in and asked for my money back, and to their credit they apologized and gave it to me.