Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
HG Rosewoods Part 3
Who's Online
3 registered (BBIBH, Boltron, bridgman), 141 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13295 Members
11 Forums
22826 Topics
403267 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17741
pmbuko 16259
SirQuack 13318
CV 11146
MarkSJohnson 10832
Meanwhile On Facebook

A very fond farewell party last night . . . we miss you Noreen!

Hope everyone's got their summer favourite playlists cued up for the weekend! W...

(y) Love this customer review of the M2s! "the first time listening to my new a...

These LFR1100 speakers in custom Eggshell White are on their way to Taiwan (yes,...

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#234787 - 12/14/08 01:14 PM 3808 problem
Da_Gimp_Pimp Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4010
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
Well, I went downstairs last night to test out Audyssey on/off and to get a couple songs in before I headed out for the evening, and I couldn't get into the menu of the 3808 (via the remote), then I went up and look at the unit and Audyssey was turned off, which isn't the way I last left it.

On Monday I had a couple guys come in to hook up my intercom camera and they where messing around with my satellite, TV, 3808 etc. and I think they've messed something up. I didn't have a lot of time to tinker around, but it seems like my receiver has been totally reset because I can't even get into the menu , and Audyssey was off. You guys think? The installers clearly didn't know anything about home theaters, they told me (I wasn't in my chair at the time) that my television is high-definition and I was using component from my satellite to my TV but in reality it's only an audio l/r /video cable. Morons.

Anyway, I'll stop rambling, any thoughts??

Thanks
_________________________
Does a dyslexic atheist not believe in dog?

Top
#234794 - 12/14/08 01:33 PM Re: 3808 problem [Re: Da_Gimp_Pimp]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10398
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I sometimes have to pull the batteries out of my remote to get it back to default settings after the kids have been messing around in the basement. This could explain the remotes lack of access to the menus.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#234806 - 12/14/08 02:52 PM Re: 3808 problem [Re: jakewash]
Da_Gimp_Pimp Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4010
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
We tried turning the batteries back-and-forth but nothing, I'll get one of my caregivers to switch the batteries and try it tonight.
_________________________
Does a dyslexic atheist not believe in dog?

Top
#234809 - 12/14/08 03:31 PM Re: 3808 problem [Re: Da_Gimp_Pimp]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4842
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
Hmmm.... you have to hit an odd button combo to completely reset the 3808 so I doubt they did that by accident. Are your channel levels, deleted or renamed sources, or crossover settings the same? The reset basically takes everything back to the default factory settings (without downgrading firmware).
_________________________
-David

Top
#234814 - 12/14/08 03:41 PM Re: 3808 problem [Re: terzaghi]
Da_Gimp_Pimp Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4010
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
I couldn't get into the menu at all, and there was absolutely no base from my 500, also Audyssey was shut off. Hopefully I'll have time to get my assistant to try to get it working at dinner and I'll report back after. If not, I'll have to get up and do it myself tomorrow morning and report back in the afternoon.

It's just really weird, and frustrating to say the least.
_________________________
Does a dyslexic atheist not believe in dog?

Top
#234822 - 12/14/08 03:57 PM Re: 3808 problem [Re: Da_Gimp_Pimp]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10398
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I think I would try a hard reset or at the very least an unplugg from the wall for a few minutes. I hope they didn't short something out.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#234826 - 12/14/08 04:01 PM Re: 3808 problem [Re: jakewash]
Da_Gimp_Pimp Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4010
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
Jay, could you help me understand how they could short something out? If I have to get up tomorrow because things aren't working at supper, I'd like to have all of my eggs in one basket before I call them and tear them a new one.
_________________________
Does a dyslexic atheist not believe in dog?

Top
#234828 - 12/14/08 04:03 PM Re: 3808 problem [Re: Da_Gimp_Pimp]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10398
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Static shock to the system would be my guess, as they were in the neighborhood and just an errant touch could reset the 3808 processor or pop something inside, it is a stretch but you never know.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#234832 - 12/14/08 04:08 PM Re: 3808 problem [Re: jakewash]
Da_Gimp_Pimp Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 06/23/07
Posts: 4010
Loc: Sitting down somewhere
I know they did connect RCA cables from the video camera decoder box to my 3808. This is precisely why I try to get up whenever anyone is doing anything in my house and watch them like a hawk. Can't trust anyone nowadays. That said, settling down now, cross your fingers for me that nothing has happened because I can't cross mine.
_________________________
Does a dyslexic atheist not believe in dog?

Top
#234835 - 12/14/08 04:09 PM Re: 3808 problem [Re: Da_Gimp_Pimp]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10398
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I'll cross mine for you.

I think a rest of the system will work but you will then have to spend time resetting all of your settings. Good luck!
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.