Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Steps for streamin DVDs with 5.1 sound through PS3
#238368 01/06/09 12:52 PM
Murph Offline OP
axiomite
OP Offline
axiomite
OK, I felt ashamed that I always answer this question with "I use TVersity. Works great but I forget how to set it up." So last night, I blew TVersity away off my PC along with all the codec packs and vowed to rebuild it and record the steps. I figure I owe many of you at least that much for all your help in the past.

I'll post the short version here but if you really are interested, I'll post a link to a word doc where I go into a lot more detail for someone starting off relatively fresh. I started writing it for a total newb to codecs audience but had to give up on that because even in it's scaled back version, it's a nine page document without even adding some much needed screenshots. I guess I could improve it if there is a lot of interest but it won't be for everybody. Sometimes it is easier to just get up off the couch and put a DVD in an old fashioned player.

Short Version:
1. Install TVersity from www.tversity.com Relatively simple. Take note of the Folders that you set up to share your movies and other media.

2. Find and install a codec pack that seems to work with your ripped DVD files. To get my configuration of Windows Media Player 11 running in Windows XP, service pack 3, I had to use the "K-Lite Codec Pack 4.4.5 (standard edition)". It can be downloaded From Here.