Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
0 registered (), 52 Guests and 6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13314 Members
11 Forums
22868 Topics
404079 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17765
pmbuko 16272
SirQuack 13331
CV 11183
MarkSJohnson 10868
Meanwhile On Facebook

󾓶 Andrew has spoken! Big update on the AxiomPlay Wireless Platform on the Axiom...

A New Look For Our Amps and Pre-amps? Adding yet another level of customization...

Hurry - sale ends Sunday!

Get a Gift Card Worth 20% of Your Purchase! Save hundreds!

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#239136 - 01/09/09 12:34 AM Connecting Your Home Theater To Cable
Stoner Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 12/15/08
Posts: 12
I have a question that I am almost too embarrassed to ask. How to you connect your cable to your home theater system so you can use your home theater speakers and surround system when watching network and cable channels. I have asked a couple people and do not believe they really knew the answer. I do not have a cable box; the coaxial cable runs from the wall to the TV. I have a Denon 3808CI A/V receiver with Axiom speakers. The cable at the current time is analog, but due to the new Federal law will become digital. I was thinking about switching over to satellite. The Denon 3808CI does not have a coaxial connection on the back of the receiver for your cable connection. What would be the best way to make the cable connection? Thanks

Top
#239139 - 01/09/09 12:41 AM Re: Connecting Your Home Theater To Cable [Re: Stoner]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11183
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
You should be able to output the audio from the TV to the Denon. I imagine it will be a stereo RCA connection, and you'll want it to be a fixed output signal (as opposed to variable, which the TV's volume setting would control) if there are settings for that in the TV's menu. You'll also disable the TV's speakers. At least, this is all that's required in my TV. I would assume yours would be set up similarly.

Top
#239140 - 01/09/09 12:47 AM Re: Connecting Your Home Theater To Cable [Re: CV]
Stoner Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 12/15/08
Posts: 12
I have a Sony Bravia LCD Projection TV. The TV is connected to the Denon A/V receiver via a HDMI cable. Does the HDMI carry the audio signal instead of using the RCA connection?

Top
#239142 - 01/09/09 01:40 AM Re: Connecting Your Home Theater To Cable [Re: Stoner]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11183
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
With my Sony TV, they keep the analog and digital signals separate, so it wouldn't send regular cable's audio over HDMI. Does the TV actually have an HDMI output going to the receiver, or is it the input into the TV you're talking about?

Top
#239146 - 01/09/09 05:15 AM Re: Connecting Your Home Theater To Cable [Re: CV]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10398
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
I think the Bravia has an HDMI output as well as an input for picture and audio. You would just run another HDMI cable from the TVs output to an input on the 3808. If there is no HDMI output from the TV then look for an optical output and run an optical cable from this output to one of the 3808s optical inputs. Finally if you find there is no optical out then I know there will be at least one set of analog outputs that you can then hook up to the 3808 analog inputs.

Another option is to use an old VCR as a tuner connect the cable to it and run the analog audio output from the VCR to the 3808 and the video (composite or S-video) to the 3808 as well and let it upconvert the video signal to be sent to the Bravia over the HDMI cable. I run something like this for my system as I have my audio gear in one corner and the TV in the other corner 12' away.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#239345 - 01/09/09 10:21 PM Re: Connecting Your Home Theater To Cable [Re: jakewash]
Stoner Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 12/15/08
Posts: 12
On the back of the Sony TV there is two HDMI connection ports stacked one over the other. Above the top HDMI port has "HDMI In". I have a HDMI cable running from my Sony Blu Ray DVD player to the Denon 3808CI A/V receiver, then another HDMI cable running from the Denon A/V reciver to the Sony TV. I am not getting any sound from my home threater speakers when watching cable or network channels.

Top
#239347 - 01/09/09 10:27 PM Re: Connecting Your Home Theater To Cable [Re: jakewash]
wilwom Offline
veteran

Registered: 11/08/04
Posts: 175
Loc: Denton, TX
 Originally Posted By: jakewash
If there is no HDMI output from the TV then look for an optical output and run an optical cable from this output to one of the 3808s optical inputs. Finally if you find there is no optical out then I know there will be at least one set of analog outputs that you can then hook up to the 3808 analog inputs.


What he said! To hear sound that is sourced from your TV on your surround system you need to run audio from your TV to your receiver using any type connection compatible to both devices.


Edited by wilwom (01/09/09 10:33 PM)
_________________________
Whose avatar should I borrow next?

Top
#239424 - 01/10/09 04:18 PM Re: Connecting Your Home Theater To Cable [Re: wilwom]
Zimm Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/08/08
Posts: 1361
Loc: New Orleans
Some TVs have an optical out that would let you pass 2 chanel or 5.1 from the TV to the Denon with one cable. If you have any HD channels over the air, all you need is a cheap antenna to get full HD and 5.1 sound for TV broadcast. Much better than the RCA cable setup, but only if you like HD over the air and live within 100 miles of a tower.
_________________________
Panny 3000 PJ, 118" Carada, Denon 3300, PS3, Axiom QS8, PSB 5T, B&W sub, levitating speaker wire

Top
#239561 - 01/11/09 11:33 AM Re: Connecting Your Home Theater To Cable [Re: Zimm]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3903
Loc: Up yonder
Stoner,

I’m a bit confused to why you want to continue using the coax cable and have not picked up a converter box from your service provider?

They are going digital, no? When they do, you will need a converter box or all you will get out that coax is fuzz and static. If you go satellite, you will get a box too. You might as well just get the gear now and be done with it.

If it were me, I’d call my cable service provider and ask if they have the converter boxes yet and if they do, go get one. They will have a variety of outputs that you will be able to connect to your 3808.
_________________________


Top
#239569 - 01/11/09 02:05 PM Re: Connecting Your Home Theater To Cable [Re: michael_d]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11183
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
The digital transition is for OTA. Cable isn't being required to change to all-digital transmission.

http://www.dtv.gov/consumercorner.html#faq30

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.