Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
1 registered (terzaghi), 175 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13323 Members
11 Forums
22901 Topics
404657 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17782
pmbuko 16280
SirQuack 13337
CV 11208
MarkSJohnson 10904
Meanwhile On Facebook

󾓶 The first review of the LFR880s is out! "If you are adding or upgrading stere...

So much going on in this month's newsletter - new product announcements, a new v...

Love this comment from Doug T! "The M22 bookshelf speakers sound so clean and a...

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#253960 - 03/27/09 01:20 PM Do they make a line level converter gadget?
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3904
Loc: Up yonder


Not real sure what it is I’m looking for, but I do know what I want it to do.

For my two channel rig, I use a Rotel 1070 pre and 1080 amp combination. I also use a sub for this system.

Currently, I have to run the line level outputs from the 1080 to my sub first. The cables then go to my speakers. This daisy chain arrangement creates a logistically challenging furniture placement situation. I have to position the sub between the amp and the speakers.

What would be ideal, is if there was a gadget available that would either go in between the pre and the amp and have a sub coax output, or, a gadget that would take the amp’s speaker outputs, incorporate a crossover and have both speaker and sub outputs. This would allow me to be more flexible with where I put my speakers, the sub and my furniture.

I seam to recall Outlaw making something like this, but do not see it on their web sight. I figured it there was a gadget that will do as I am envisioning, this crowd would know.
_________________________


Top
#253974 - 03/27/09 03:11 PM Re: Do they make a line level converter gadget? [Re: michael_d]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10398
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Wasn't there a post in Alan's section about this?

I was thinking about this one

http://www.axiomaudio.com/boards/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=248376#Post248376


Edited by jakewash (03/27/09 03:13 PM)
Edit Reason: added link
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#253975 - 03/27/09 03:12 PM Re: Do they make a line level converter gadget? [Re: michael_d]
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6720
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.
That would be an Outlaw ICBM which has long ago been disconnected. You could use the second set of preouts from the 1070 and run coax from there to the sub. Your mains would be running full range this way.


Edited by wid (03/27/09 03:13 PM)
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#253983 - 03/27/09 04:22 PM Re: Do they make a line level converter gadget? [Re: Wid]
bugbitten Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/06/05
Posts: 2339
Loc: Madisonville, KY
I run two sets of speaker wires from the same receiver output. A short set to the sub and a long set to the sepaker that is in a different direction.

Top
#253992 - 03/27/09 05:37 PM Re: Do they make a line level converter gadget? [Re: bugbitten]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3904
Loc: Up yonder
I have thought about splicing speaker wire together in a Y configuration, then one set to the sub and one set to the speakers, but was hoping there was something that would have internal crossover. Not a big deal one way or the other as I can still use the sub’s crossover.

Rick, how’s that work using the 1070’s second pre-outs? Would I just use a stereo to mono Y adapter of sorts? My sub just has the one coax input. That would be a bit more elegant than splicing speaker wire.
_________________________


Top
#253994 - 03/27/09 05:55 PM Re: Do they make a line level converter gadget? [Re: michael_d]
Wid Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/22/03
Posts: 6720
Loc: The Peoples Republic of Il.
Darn it, it's really not recommended to mono the two outputs into one input Mike. If your sub had a R/L inputs then it would be ok.

Why not wye
_________________________
Rick


"A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity." Sigmund Freud


Top
#254032 - 03/27/09 11:42 PM Re: Do they make a line level converter gadget? [Re: michael_d]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10395
Mike, what you've described isn't entirely clear to me. First, although you said that you're running line level outputs from the 1080, apparently you actually mean speaker level. Then you say that you daisy chain(apparently with speaker wire)to the speakers, which you say creates some placement problems. So why are you doing that? The speaker wire to the speakers should be connected directly to the 1080 speaker terminals. Then since the 1070 has no sub out and connecting the spare set of preouts to the single sub line level input isn't advisable(see Rick Widner's link on this), run another set of speaker wires from the 1080 terminals(trim the wire ends to fit if necessary)to the sub. You won't have much in the way of bass management since the speakers will run full range and the sub has only a low pass filter(not a full crossover)to roll it off roughly above the setting on the sub.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#254055 - 03/28/09 03:14 AM Re: Do they make a line level converter gadget? [Re: JohnK]
fredk Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/06/07
Posts: 7047
Loc: Canada
The only thing I can think of is pro audio crossovers, but thats probably a little pricey.
_________________________
Fred

-------
Blujays1: Spending Fred's money one bottle at a time, no two... Oh crap!

Top
#254078 - 03/28/09 12:19 PM Re: Do they make a line level converter gadget? [Re: fredk]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3904
Loc: Up yonder
John,

You understand what's happening very clearly.

I wrote line level because that's what the sub's manual calls them. Yes, they are the speaker wires.

The 1080's binding posts are pretty big. I can stuff a couple 12 gauge wires under it if needed. Or better yet, I can solder two sets of wires onto a spade.

The gadget I'm looking to find does not appear to be made anymore.
_________________________


Top
#255451 - 04/04/09 01:48 AM Re: Do they make a line level converter gadget? [Re: michael_d]
2x6spds Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 03/16/02
Posts: 2726
Loc: CA, USA
I had an Outlaw ICBM bass manager which I used between my processor and amps for SACD and DVD Audio music. It was a very nice unit, but I sold it a while ago.

Since then I picked up a Reckhorn Bass Management Unit. I haven't hooked it up yet, but probably will use it for my garage system because my amp doesn't have sub out, so now I run line out from the integrated amp to the sub's x-over.




_________________________
Enjoy the Music. Trust your ears. Laugh at Folks Who Claim to Know it All.

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.