Print Thread
Rate Thread
ButtKicker and other bass shakers
#264429 06/23/09 05:17 PM
Golden Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Has anyone set one these up in their HT, and if so, have any comments on them? Are they worth the money, or just a gimmick? My thought process is: in an apartment setting, where too much audible bass may be a problem, would the addiction of tactile bass be an effective way to add to the HT experience?

M60x2, VP150, M22x2
Sennheiser HD-595
Onkyo TX-SR507, PS3 (40gb)
Re: ButtKicker and other bass shakers
Golden #264432 06/23/09 05:30 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
Sam,
I have no experience 'bass shakers', however I have had the fun of experiencing D-Box. D-Box is IMHO a fantastic addition to an HT setup. Of course the price is not cheap by any means, which is why I haven't got one. It's on my wish list of things I can't afford! \:\) Go and demo a D-Box setup if you can. I watched about 20 minutes of Bolt and was just amazed. The best part was I didn't even know it was a D-Box setup when I sat down. I was a bit freaked out when the couch 1st started moving along with the train Bolt was on!

Dan
On-Wall M5HP LCR, QS8 & EP500 in 7.1
cb919 #264434 06/23/09 06:12 PM
Golden Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Hah, just when you think you've found something neat... you realize there is something about 1000x better out there. These certainly do look expensive, do you happen to know what they actually end up costing (not that I'm getting one)?!

M60x2, VP150, M22x2
Sennheiser HD-595
Golden #264445 06/23/09 07:54 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur

Originally Posted By: Golden

Has anyone set one these up in their HT, and if so, have any comments on them? Are they worth the money, or just a gimmick? My thought process is: in an apartment setting, where too much audible bass may be a problem, would the addiction of tactile bass be an effective way to add to the HT experience?