Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Our Newest Flagship Model: The M100

Why We Make Our Own Drivers

Wall'O'Fame
"Serenity Cinema", now with 40% extra Serenity!
Updated as requested.
Who's Online
3 registered (Ken.C, Lampshade, JohnK), 108 Guests and 7 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
12713 Members
11 Forums
22686 Topics
400526 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17696
pmbuko 16225
SirQuack 13311
CV 11062
MarkSJohnson 10681
Meanwhile On Facebook

8| Don't miss Andrew Welker's post on our message boards about the new subwoofer...

󾓲 The April Newsletter is out! Did you get your copy? http://www.axiomaudio.co...

Double-take! :O How well do you know our line? First one to spot the surprise...

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#270590 - 08/25/09 08:09 AM M22 with a sub
Paul Brackstone Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 02/02/09
Posts: 12
Hi,

Please help. I purchased the M22's and a 350 sub (as advised by Alan). How do I bring my sub into the equation when just using stereo. I understand the surround usage of the sub (ie. its own dedicated channel)

Paul

Top
#270594 - 08/25/09 08:24 AM Re: M22 with a sub [Re: Paul Brackstone]
Adrian Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/27/08
Posts: 6559
Loc: It's all about the location.
Hi Paul. You should have a menu in your AVR for 2ch direct/stereo where you can select the subwoofer. On my Denon 2809 it is under "Manual Setup"....then "Audio Setup"....then "2ch Direct/Stereo"....under "custom" you can set your fronts up how you like, and assign your subwoofer to use, the subwoofer mode and set the crossover and distance to the sub.
_________________________
A person convinced against their will is of the same opinion still.

Top
#270599 - 08/25/09 10:39 AM Re: M22 with a sub [Re: Adrian]
Ken.C Online   content
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17696
Loc: NoVA
Yup, we'll need to know which receiver you have. You may also need to set the mains/fronts/M22s to small.
_________________________
I didn't do it, no one saw me, you can't prove anything.

Top
#270600 - 08/25/09 10:40 AM Re: M22 with a sub [Re: Adrian]
osborne Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 08/20/09
Posts: 16
Loc: Labrador
If the receiver you are using does not have a dedicated sub out you may need to use the "high Level Input" posts on the sub. I have never used them on a sub myself but I believe you run one set of speaker wires in parallel with either the front left or right speaker to these inputs.
_________________________
Epic 80 - 500 system in 7.1
Denon 3808CI



Top
#270846 - 08/27/09 04:48 AM Re: M22 with a sub [Re: osborne]
Paul Brackstone Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 02/02/09
Posts: 12
Thank you all for your input.

I am still a bit confused though. My amp does have a speaker setup option and I have set all speakers to small and have selected sub. I still cannot hear anything from the sub.

I am using an Arcam 5:1 surround amp and my input source on the amp is set for the 5:1 channel input. I am using an SACD player which is also my CD player

Thanks

Paul

Top
#270848 - 08/27/09 06:02 AM Re: M22 with a sub [Re: Paul Brackstone]
EFalardeau Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 08/27/07
Posts: 3269
Loc: Laval, Quebec, Canada
If you are connected 5.1 analog, then your receiver is unlikely to be able to do bass management. In that case, make sure your player has also the correct speaker configuration and sends the desired bass through the LFE output, which will then be send to the sub.
_________________________
E = MC2 = ((2M80 + VP180 + 4QS8)/(EP800 + EP500))^(ADA1500 x D2v)
Audiobytes! 2M22! 2VP150!

Top
#271433 - 09/02/09 01:59 PM Re: M22 with a sub [Re: EFalardeau]
Paul Brackstone Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 02/02/09
Posts: 12
You hit the nail on the head! My SACD player needed the speakers set to small as well as the amp

Thanks for your help

Top
#271442 - 09/02/09 04:25 PM Re: M22 with a sub [Re: Paul Brackstone]
th3at3rguy Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/10/09
Posts: 142
Loc: Michigan
I had that same problem when I first got my M22s and EP175. But after a few posts you guys helped me figure it out. I cant believe everything I have bought since then. This is one expensive hobby, but fun.

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.