Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Any Min Cooper drivers here?
Murph #272090 09/10/09 01:49 PM
axiomite
axiomite
If a car was designed to use high octane, it will almost definately compromise some of your power and driveability if you try regular gasoline in it. I'm not a mechanic, by any means, but I would suspect that continued use of regular fuel in an engine designed to run on higher octane ratings would eventually damage the motor, and void any warranty(if the manufacturer knew).

Half of communication is listening. You can't listen with your mouth.
Murph #272091 09/10/09 02:33 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
I don't own a Mini, but I've *almost* bought one twice. On both occasions the reason for not buying came down to a disagreement with the dealer on price. They are tremendously fun little cars - especially the S models with the manual. So long as you're ok with little cars. I am, but some people think they're too claustrophobic. I have read of a few maintenance horror stories with Mini's, but nothing outside of what one can realistically expect from a European car - they're generally fairly pricey to get worked upon.

Regarding octane... Yes, it is a myth that putting 91+ octane in engine designed for 87 results in more power. Your lawn mower isn't going to make any more power on super premium. But, it is NOT a myth when the engine is designed for higher octane gas. If an engine's management system is designed to take advantage of the higher compression ratios possible with higher-octane gas, then you will get more power when running higher octane.