Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
6 registered (Captain4105, richeydog, exlabdriver, Serenity_Now, Ken.C, oakvillematt), 37 Guests and 5 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13330 Members
11 Forums
22922 Topics
405245 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17791
pmbuko 16289
SirQuack 13341
CV 11237
MarkSJohnson 10942
Meanwhile On Facebook

☺ Wow - our 13,000 likes! Awesome! #thankful

Did you get your "Golden Email"? The great gift certificate email giveaway star...

Here's a helpful article for everyone looking at putting a new stereo or home th...

Interesting article about who's getting the money from streaming radio services...

Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#280839 - 11/28/09 11:45 PM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: grunt]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10399
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
$1400 for the 3007!!!! .........you suck!!!! ;\) \:\) It is ~$2600 up here, same goes for the Denon 4310

I bet the best I could do on Boxing day (our Black Friday) would be $1900-2000.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#280841 - 11/29/09 12:07 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: grunt]
Micah Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 11/16/08
Posts: 1789
Loc: Indiana you hoser!!!!
 Originally Posted By: grunt
I believe what Randy is suggesting is that your M80s were bottoming out not your subwoofer.


Ahhh... well if you're right about that, then all I have to say is this.... negative. I ruled that possibility out almost immediatelly. I disconnected every speaker except the EP800 and ran the 'Cave' scene among other extreme LFE movie sequences and the EP800 was 100% the culprit. And let me also say that I've never heard the M80's bottom out. I can't speak for how well they perform with a reciever pushing them because when I had the Denon hooked up to them I never went past zero on the volume knob, because they started to sound strained.

But I can say that with the Emotiva supplying the full 400 watts that they're rated to handle, I can not bottom them out. And I've pushed them, trust me. Those things are the real poop!
_________________________
My Stuff :

M80's
QS8's
VP150
EP800
Denon 4802
Emotiva XPA-3
Samsung BD-P3600
Sharp 65 Inch Aquos LCD

Top
#280842 - 11/29/09 12:10 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: jakewash]
grunt Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 3569
Loc: Nirvana
\:o

So explain to me why some products cost so much up there compared to here? You’re not really all that more socialist than we are.
_________________________
3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1

Top
#280843 - 11/29/09 12:15 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: grunt]
grunt Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 3569
Loc: Nirvana
 Originally Posted By: Micah

Ahhh... well if you're right about that, then all I have to say is this.... negative. I ruled that possibility out almost immediatelly. I disconnected every speaker except the EP800 and ran the 'Cave' scene among other extreme LFE movie sequences and the EP800 was 100% the culprit.


Based on your descriptions of what you were hearing I didn’t think it was your problem. Randy just doesn’t like it when we run our M80s large, or w/really low crossovers. ;\)
_________________________
3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1

Top
#280844 - 11/29/09 12:17 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: grunt]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10399
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
Not enough competition to keep the price down. You can only buy the 3007 around Calgary from a couple of places in the retail market or go with some of the HT companies and get charged even more!
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#280846 - 11/29/09 01:51 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: grunt]
Micah Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 11/16/08
Posts: 1789
Loc: Indiana you hoser!!!!
 Originally Posted By: grunt
 Originally Posted By: Micah

Ahhh... well if you're right about that, then all I have to say is this.... negative. I ruled that possibility out almost immediatelly. I disconnected every speaker except the EP800 and ran the 'Cave' scene among other extreme LFE movie sequences and the EP800 was 100% the culprit.


Based on your descriptions of what you were hearing I didn’t think it was your problem. Randy just doesn’t like it when we run our M80s large, or w/really low crossovers. ;\)




Oh Dean, have you been hitting the garlic again?




Lol
_________________________
My Stuff :

M80's
QS8's
VP150
EP800
Denon 4802
Emotiva XPA-3
Samsung BD-P3600
Sharp 65 Inch Aquos LCD

Top
#280847 - 11/29/09 02:11 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: Micah]
grunt Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 3569
Loc: Nirvana
 Originally Posted By: Micah

Oh Dean, have you been hitting the garlic again?

Lol


Knoblauch wird durch die Luftwaffe verboten.

Well at least that kind is. 7 years 2 months and (runs out of fingers) 14 days, not that I’m counting. ;\) With my luck, by then the lefties will have brought us national healthcare and the righties will use it as an excuse test everyone. I can’t count the number of times I’ve warned my lefty friends to be careful what they wish for.

Garlic related (the real kind), I freaked out a cashier at the grocery store the other day when I bought over a kilo of garlic. She looked at me quizzically so I looked around as if to check who was watching, then leaned forward and said “Vampires! Avondale’s crawling with them.” I love freaking people out.
_________________________
3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1

Top
#280848 - 11/29/09 03:21 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: grunt]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3448
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
I just remembered one pre/pro which has separate sub-woofer outputs. Its feature-set is a little dated now, but the Theta Digital, Casablanca III can have up to 12 outputs, mapped from any number of input channels, with individually set crossover points. So you could take the left input and send >80 Hz to one output, and then the <80 Hz also of the left input to a separate out. It can have front/rear subs, or left/right very easily.
_________________________
Pioneer VSX-1018AH-K, PDP-5020FD, DV-79AVi
Axiom M22s, VP150, QS8s
Sony PS3, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#280850 - 11/29/09 05:16 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: ClubNeon]
grunt Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/04/06
Posts: 3569
Loc: Nirvana
That is one seriously cool piece of equipment.
_________________________
3M80 2M22 6QS8 2M2 1EP500 Sony BDP-S590 Panny-7000 Onkyo-3007 Carada-134 Xbox Buttkicker AS-EQ1

Top
#280852 - 11/29/09 06:53 AM Re: Do I need 2 channels to run 2 subs? [Re: grunt]
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making

Registered: 07/20/06
Posts: 11237
Loc: Richland, WA, USA
You sound like me talking to Eric.

Top
Page 3 of 4 < 1 2 3 4 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.