Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 3 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
Re: 500 question / problem
Argon #287694 01/20/10 02:29 AM
connoisseur
connoisseur
Rob, I'm no expert here, but if the test tone for your receiver did not trigger the sub to 'wake up' then I would say you definitely have a wonky amp. And I agree with your wife that it should 'just work'. I am sure Axiom will make it right and will keep both you and your wife happy with your sub choice.

Good luck!

Dan
On-Wall M5HP LCR, QS8 & EP500 in 7.1
Argon #287695 01/20/10 02:30 AM
shareholder in the making
Rob, no different suggestions, just to confirm that the increase that was spoken of is an increase in the sub trim level(which increases the voltage output)on the receiver(e.g., the +3 that you've now set), not an increase in the sub volume level control. In fact, as you now see, the volume control should be turned down when the sub voltage output on the receiver is increased, so that there's no overall change in the calibrated sub level.

-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.

JohnK #287712 01/20/10 03:20 AM
Argon Offline OP
connoisseur
OP Offline
connoisseur
 Originally Posted By: JohnK
Rob, no different suggestions, just to confirm that the increase that was spoken of is an increase in the sub trim level(which increases the voltage output)on the receiver(e.g., the +3 that you've now set), not an increase in the sub volume level control. In fact, as you now see, the volume control should be turned down when the sub voltage output on the receiver is increased, so that there's no overall change in the calibrated sub level.

I watched Alan's video on how to set up the 500 before doing anything. I started with the knob in the 10:00 position. It is waaay down now but still putting out 78 db. I am going to stay the course - a little wiser - and if it wonks out again, I'll be back with JC....

"A fanatic is someone who can't change his mind and won't change the subject" Churchill