C
CV Offline
Founder, Axiom Upgrade Club
shareholder in the making
C
Originally Posted By: MarkSJohnson
She wants to play "Words with Friends" with her family but refuses to pay another $30/month on our wireless bill for a new phone! smile

Sadly, that's what I've been using my Fire for mostly. I hadn't even played the game until recently. I still want to use it as a music player, but they just don't have a music player app available that's what I'm looking for.

Re: Anyone else moved to an e-reader ?
CV #366319 02/11/12 11:04 PM
C
CV Offline
C
You can tell I'm a newbie with Android apps. I finally looked a little deeper into PowerAMP and found I browse to their website on the Kindle Fire and install it from there by simply allowing non-marketplace apps. It seems to be working just fine.

It's still not quite the ideal portable music player I want to take to work with me, but it's not bad. I bought a neoprene sleeve by BUILT for it, and an AmazonBasics stylus. I'm using a BookGem book holder to keep it in place, though it only works in landscape orientation because of where I need to plug in the audio cable. But yeah, the pair of black M3 v3s that I bought a while ago ended up at work. They're powered by an AudioSource AMP-100, so this is what I hook my music players to when I'm there. It's nice working in a storeroom during the evening shift. I get to blast my music after day shift leaves at 4:30.

I suppose the only thing the Kindle Fire needs is expandable storage to do what I want it to.

Murph #366678 02/15/12 03:07 PM
Murph Offline OP
axiomite
OP Offline
axiomite
Speaking of e-readers, one advantage is being able to get classics and 'out of copy write' books for free (or something close too it.) My first Kindle purchase was the complete collection of Sherlock Holmes for 99 cents.

Most recently, this helped clear up a mystery for me. Excuse the long story.