Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
0 registered (), 52 Guests and 6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13314 Members
11 Forums
22868 Topics
404079 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17765
pmbuko 16272
SirQuack 13331
CV 11183
MarkSJohnson 10868
Meanwhile On Facebook

󾓶 Andrew has spoken! Big update on the AxiomPlay Wireless Platform on the Axiom...

A New Look For Our Amps and Pre-amps? Adding yet another level of customization...

Hurry - sale ends Sunday!

Get a Gift Card Worth 20% of Your Purchase! Save hundreds!

Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#389031 - 01/31/13 10:06 AM Re: Logitech Rant [Re: oldskoolboarder]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6793
Loc: PEI, Canada
I think the thing about URC is that it has whatever you program it to do. It has always done "activities", if you set it up to do so. For instance....

If I hit the button on my main screen with the picture of the DVD player, it correctly activates my HDMI switch, BR player, receiver, TV etc and also sets the receiver to accept the audio signal type being sent from the BR player, typically a standard or HD 5.1 format. The 'TV on' part of the macro includes the 'manual double click trick' to ensure the TV is actually turned on, not off, because I still have yet to look up it's discrete code for this. (luckily the trick programmed for my old TV still works with my new model)

Finally, it takes me to a screen where I have programmed buttons for all my other custom tasks that I might do when watching a DVD. These tasks are not device specific to the BR player. For instance, I have a button to bump up the center channel 1.5 db and another to reset it back.

In contrast,
If I press the button showing a CD, it activates all the same gear but locks the sound format to 'stereo with sub,' which is currently my preference for stereo recorded music. It completes with taking me to another set of screens with CD listening specific tasks. For instance, I have a button to return from 'stereo' back to a 'Dolby surround mode,' just in case JohnK is knocking at my door. I don't want to get caught in stereo.....

Whatever you choose to call it, both products have always done 'activities'. It's just how you set them up that differs.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#389035 - 01/31/13 12:11 PM Re: Logitech Rant [Re: oldskoolboarder]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17765
Loc: NoVA
What about the volume control and directional arrows, which might be used by two different devices during one session? IE, volume controls must control the receiver, but directional buttons must control the DVD player?
_________________________
I didn't do it, no one saw me, you can't prove anything.

Top
#389039 - 01/31/13 12:54 PM Re: Logitech Rant [Re: Ken.C]
Kruncher Offline
devotee

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 484
Loc: Maple Ridge, BC
In the manual for my MX-500 they refer to this as "punch through", which I always found to be a bit odd. Often it's referred to as "volume lock" or "channel lock" so that the respective buttons are locked to one device, such as the receiver for volume controls, and the DVR for channel controls.

I've always liked how I'm in charge of everything in terms of configuration AND custom functionality of the remote, and that once you've learned how, you can make significant modifications quickly and easily.

RF would be nice though. It was way too expensive at the time that I bought the MX-500 for $200.

Top
#389040 - 01/31/13 01:05 PM Re: Logitech Rant [Re: Ken.C]
Ray3 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/02/04
Posts: 2841
Loc: Rochester, NY
Ken - Murph's answer is right on for your first questions. The Harmony does "activities" by extrapolating commands from the devices you load. With the URC, this function is called a macro and you program the remote (with any simple or complex steps you choose.

As to your second question:
"What about the volume control and directional arrows, which might be used by two different devices during one session? IE, volume controls must control the receiver, but directional buttons must control the DVD player?"

Once you set up your DVD device, the remote has all of the commands & buttons of that model. Additionally, you can program a "punch through" that allows you to control the volume/mute functions of the receiver or TV, depending on how you are hooked up. Then you can add additional commands - my example above of the SUB+ and SUB- controls. You can also add the receiver commands for audio - stereo, Dolby Digital, DTS, Cinema, Music, etc.

If you have a 2 zone or 3 zone receiver, you can set up a device for them as well. Or a Receiver device, a CD device, or APPLTV/iTunes device for each zone.

Said another way, with any device you create (Satellite, DVD, TV, etc.), you can add any other command from any other device (via drag & drop) to any device you have. For example, I have a POWER device where I have the discrete ON and OFF commands for all of my other devices. I use it to build macros. On the main OFF button, I have a macro that cycles through all of my device OFF commands when I am done so that I am sure everything is turned off.

On an MX-900, the LCD screen has 6 entries per page and can go 21 pages deep. You can drag & drop to arrange the commands anywhere you want ( I put the most-used commands on the first & last page - easy to toggle). This is in addition to the standard hard button commands.

As I said, the Harmony stuff is pretty good, but the URC remotes just get to a whole different level.

To be sure, you need to buy the URC remotes from an authorized dealer so you can get the software for programming it. Jack & I have been using (and referring folks to) Mike at surfremotecontrol.com. Great prices, extremely helpful AND authorized dealer.

Top
#389042 - 01/31/13 01:14 PM Re: Logitech Rant [Re: Ray3]
Ajax Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/30/03
Posts: 6250
Loc: Cleveland, Ohio
Yeah I posted the following in Catbrat's thread:

Anyone considering a URC (Universal Remote Control) remote should check the prices at Surf Remote Control. Just give them them a call and ask what the current discount price is for the remote in which you are interested. They are authorized dealers, have great prices, and are super nice folks to deal with.

It may be possible to find a better price, but you should definitely check with them before buying.


P.S. Just be sure that the vendor is an authorized dealer or you won't get the software and warranty.


Obviously, if you choose to go with a URC remote, you will have lots of support from Ray, Murph, and me.
_________________________
Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton

Top
#389043 - 01/31/13 01:20 PM Re: Logitech Rant [Re: Ajax]
MarkSJohnson Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 09/27/04
Posts: 10868
Loc: Central NH
Originally Posted By: Ajax
Obviously, if you choose to go with a URC remote, you will have lots of support from Ray, Murph, and me.


Pfffft. Neither of you have made any house calls.
_________________________
::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::

Top
#389046 - 01/31/13 02:43 PM Re: Logitech Rant [Re: oldskoolboarder]
michael_d Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/23/04
Posts: 3903
Loc: Up yonder
I have two MX 980's. The things you can program these remotes to do is seemingly endless. This is good and bad. Good for folks who like to tweak. Bad for folks who are impatient, as the learning curve is pretty steep. One gripe I've always had with URC is their database. Half of my stuff is not in their IR database, so I have to use the "learn" function. Whenever you use the learn function, there will always be problems.
_________________________


Top
#389047 - 01/31/13 02:48 PM Re: Logitech Rant [Re: MarkSJohnson]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6793
Loc: PEI, Canada
Originally Posted By: MarkSJohnson
Originally Posted By: Ajax
Obviously, if you choose to go with a URC remote, you will have lots of support from Ray, Murph, and me.


Pfffft. Neither of you have made any house calls.


Hey unfair, my remote spent some time in your house.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#389051 - 01/31/13 03:14 PM Re: Logitech Rant [Re: oldskoolboarder]
MarkSJohnson Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 09/27/04
Posts: 10868
Loc: Central NH
Well, that's true.
_________________________
::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::

Top
#389062 - 01/31/13 08:15 PM Re: Logitech Rant [Re: Murph]
Ray3 Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/02/04
Posts: 2841
Loc: Rochester, NY
Originally Posted By: Murph
Originally Posted By: MarkSJohnson
Originally Posted By: Ajax
Obviously, if you choose to go with a URC remote, you will have lots of support from Ray, Murph, and me.


Pfffft. Neither of you have made any house calls.


Hey unfair, my remote spent some time in your house.


And, of course, we would actually need to be INVITED, ya know, to come to your house.

Just sayin.



grin

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.