Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
HG Rosewoods Part 3
Who's Online
3 registered (bridgman, SirQuack, Ajax), 108 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13295 Members
11 Forums
22823 Topics
403201 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17739
pmbuko 16258
SirQuack 13318
CV 11136
MarkSJohnson 10830
Meanwhile On Facebook

A very fond farewell party last night . . . we miss you Noreen!

Hope everyone's got their summer favourite playlists cued up for the weekend! W...

(y) Love this customer review of the M2s! "the first time listening to my new a...

These LFR1100 speakers in custom Eggshell White are on their way to Taiwan (yes,...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#388883 - 01/28/13 12:56 AM Out of phase
brwsaw Offline
aficionado

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 972
Re ran YPAO 3 times with the same out of phase message on the 4 channels wired to my ADA1000.
The wiring is correct. Any chance RCA cables for video are different( I used left over cables from the satelite/PVR packaging)? I can't see it being the output on the reciever or the input on the amp.
I could swap the cables on one speaker and re run YPAO. Is there a risk of damaging speakers when used out of phase?
_________________________
I need a new hobby

Top
#388886 - 01/28/13 06:29 AM Re: Out of phase [Re: brwsaw]
MarkSJohnson Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 09/27/04
Posts: 10830
Loc: Central NH
No, there is no risk.
_________________________
::::::: No disrespect to Axiom, but my favorite woofer is my yellow lab :::::::

Top
#388892 - 01/28/13 08:16 AM Re: Out of phase [Re: brwsaw]
Murph Offline
axiomite

Registered: 10/05/06
Posts: 6730
Loc: PEI, Canada
It is possible in certain situations to get false positives during auto calibration checks. Audyssey states that it is simply a 'warning' to double check you wiring. If you are satisfied everything is correct, then just hit [Skip] and proceed. It will have no effect on the rest of the calibration. I suspect it will not effect the results of YPAO either.
_________________________
With great power comes Awesome irresponsibility.

Top
#388893 - 01/28/13 08:22 AM Re: Out of phase [Re: brwsaw]
CatBrat Offline
axiomite

Registered: 08/05/09
Posts: 5798
Loc: Some random location
I've had similar problems with MCACC and Audyssey. One time it was a wiring issue. The rest of the time it wasn't.

Top
#388900 - 01/28/13 10:50 AM Re: Out of phase [Re: brwsaw]
brwsaw Offline
aficionado

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 972
Thanks.
The sound isn't quite right but I moved/swapped every speaker when I set it up and think this might be why.
I've never had it display more than one channel out of phase before. Its actually pretty normal.
I think I'll swap the cables on the surrounds, listen to them for a bit and re run YPAO. It should sound better or worse and I'll know, right?
I've already had one scare with my M80's (havent been able to run them for a month) so I'll be a bit more carefull this time around.
_________________________
I need a new hobby

Top
#388924 - 01/28/13 09:15 PM Re: Out of phase [Re: brwsaw]
cohesion Offline
local

Registered: 03/27/12
Posts: 205
Loc: Maple, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: brwsaw
Re ran YPAO 3 times with the same out of phase message on the 4 channels wired to my ADA1000.
The wiring is correct. Any chance RCA cables for video are different( I used left over cables from the satelite/PVR packaging)? I can't see it being the output on the reciever or the input on the amp.
I could swap the cables on one speaker and re run YPAO. Is there a risk of damaging speakers when used out of phase?


If all four channels are out of phase they are in effect in phase relative to each other but may be reversed in polarity compared to any other channels. How many other channels are you using and how are they wired?

Top
#388928 - 01/28/13 10:10 PM Re: Out of phase [Re: cohesion]
brwsaw Offline
aficionado

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 972
These 4 channels (LF/RF/RS/LS) are now run from the ADA1000 and the 5 remaining channels are still run by an RX-A1010.
All wired positive(cables marked) to red.


Edited by brwsaw (01/28/13 10:12 PM)
_________________________
I need a new hobby

Top
#389071 - 01/31/13 10:42 PM Re: Out of phase [Re: brwsaw]
brwsaw Offline
aficionado

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 972
I finally gave up and listened to the voices in my head.
They sound quite a bit better now.
I don't know where/how/why but...
Officially I swapped + & - on the M80's and I'm at peace again.
I'll swap the cables on my rear towers and deal with the why later.


Edited by brwsaw (01/31/13 10:43 PM)
_________________________
I need a new hobby

Top
#389087 - 02/01/13 12:52 PM Re: Out of phase [Re: brwsaw]
alan Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3186
Loc: Toronto/New York/Dwight
Hi,

Keep in mind that YPAO, Audyssey and other similar auto-setup programs can be very error-prone with phase calculations, especially with bipole, dipole or multi-directional surrounds like Axiom's QS8s and QS4s.

My best advice is to carefully wire your mains and surrounds noting the polarity of each cable and connection and not rely on the auto-setup schemes when it comes to phase determination.

Regards,
Alan
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert

Top
#389100 - 02/01/13 08:24 PM Re: Out of phase [Re: alan]
brwsaw Offline
aficionado

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 972
Originally Posted By: alan
Hi,

Keep in mind that YPAO, Audyssey and other similar auto-setup programs can be very error-prone with phase calculations, especially with bipole, dipole or multi-directional surrounds like Axiom's QS8s and QS4s.

My best advice is to carefully wire your mains and surrounds noting the polarity of each cable and connection and not rely on the auto-setup schemes when it comes to phase determination.

Regards,
Alan



Thanks. I can't explain it, somethings wrong somewhere.
The wirings pretty straight forward. While its certainly not the first time I've swapped cables and or speakers it is the first time I've used the preouts on this reciever and or a seperate amp (other than for a passive sub).
Its internal and it'll bug me for a while.
I've moved my QS4's to the front presence locations in prepperation for QS8's in May. The towers I placed as my surrounds have been there before and are pleasing, I found myself being especially fond of the sound coming off the sides of them last time they were in this position. A little more placment tweaking and a wire swap and I'll try Avatar for the first time at home.
_________________________
I need a new hobby

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.