Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
HG Rosewoods Part 3
Who's Online
0 registered (), 114 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13295 Members
11 Forums
22826 Topics
403259 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17741
pmbuko 16259
SirQuack 13318
CV 11145
MarkSJohnson 10832
Meanwhile On Facebook

A very fond farewell party last night . . . we miss you Noreen!

Hope everyone's got their summer favourite playlists cued up for the weekend! W...

(y) Love this customer review of the M2s! "the first time listening to my new a...

These LFR1100 speakers in custom Eggshell White are on their way to Taiwan (yes,...

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#390256 - 02/26/13 08:50 PM Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17741
Loc: NoVA
Does anyone know of a fast way to turn on or off Audyssey Dynamic Volume? I'm not that likely to use it, but my wife likes watching hockey games late at night, when everyone else is asleep. She has a hard time hearing the commentators, so she turns it up really loud. I think Dynamic Volume would help with this, but I don't want it on all the time, and there's no way in hell she's going to go through the 18 keypresses (or so) it takes to do it in the Onk manual. I guess I can set it up using the Harmony, but I was wondering if there was a better way.
_________________________
I didn't do it, no one saw me, you can't prove anything.

Top
#390259 - 02/26/13 09:39 PM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10362
Ken, I use Dynamic EQ at all times, but not Dynamic Volume. I haven't considered this at great length, but I'm not aware of any Onkyo provision for a one-click or other rapid way to select it. The menu entry appears to be the only route.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#390264 - 02/26/13 10:44 PM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16259
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
I learned something new about Ken's wife today.
_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
#390267 - 02/27/13 12:29 AM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
jakewash Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 12/26/03
Posts: 10398
Loc: Calgary, Alberta
The Harmony is the easiest way, was for my Denon too. I have my One set up with a 'soft' button in the display.
_________________________
Jason
-----------------
TTTHHHPPPPPTTTT!

My HT

Top
#390279 - 02/27/13 08:19 AM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17741
Loc: NoVA
So basically something like Home>Down>Enter>Down>Down>Down>Down>Down>Down>Right>Enter>Down>Down>Return>Return?
_________________________
I didn't do it, no one saw me, you can't prove anything.

Top
#390285 - 02/27/13 10:09 AM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
tomtuttle Offline
axiomite

Registered: 06/20/03
Posts: 8268
Loc: Tacoma
Good grief.

I'm not sure how or if it would help you, but sometimes I have found that there are commands available in harmony or URC databases that are not native on the device's remote.
_________________________
bibere usque ad hilaritatem

Top
#390286 - 02/27/13 10:21 AM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17741
Loc: NoVA
I haven't made an actual count of the keystrokes needed. But it's not insignificant.
_________________________
I didn't do it, no one saw me, you can't prove anything.

Top
#390288 - 02/27/13 10:32 AM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
alan Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 01/29/02
Posts: 3186
Loc: Toronto/New York/Dwight
Hi Ken,

There may be a less complicated alternative for you. I have my TV set up so the line analog audio-out jacks from the TV go to an inexpensive AR wireless headphone base unit. My son is a night owl and when he visits he used to watch TV with the volume too high (I'm a light sleeper.) So I rigged the wireless headphone setup. All he has to is put on the headphones and mute the TV speakers. This arrangement bypasses the AV receiver, amps, surround system, everything. He's not mechanically inclined so it's perfect for him and I get my sleep.

If your TV has a headphone output, you could use a wired headset as a cheapo solution instead of the above.

Alan
_________________________
Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert

Top
#390327 - 02/27/13 06:49 PM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
Eno Offline
old hand

Registered: 11/15/03
Posts: 67
Loc: Bowie, MD USA
Set up one of the remote's 'Quick Select' buttons to turn on the Dynamic Volume. You can save the specific input source, volume, surround mode, and Audyssey Dynamic Volume on any of the quick select buttons.

Top
#390333 - 02/27/13 08:36 PM Re: Hey Onk owners...Audyssey Dynamic Volume settings [Re: Ken.C]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17741
Loc: NoVA
There are quick select buttons?
_________________________
I didn't do it, no one saw me, you can't prove anything.

Top
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.