Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Outdoor Speaker Placement

Speaker Placement: Unusual Room Layouts and Elevating Speakers

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Wall'O'Fame
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
HG Rosewoods Part 3
Who's Online
1 registered (dakkon), 99 Guests and 3 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13295 Members
11 Forums
22826 Topics
403251 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17741
pmbuko 16259
SirQuack 13318
CV 11144
MarkSJohnson 10832
Meanwhile On Facebook

A very fond farewell party last night . . . we miss you Noreen!

Hope everyone's got their summer favourite playlists cued up for the weekend! W...

(y) Love this customer review of the M2s! "the first time listening to my new a...

These LFR1100 speakers in custom Eggshell White are on their way to Taiwan (yes,...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#395293 - 07/19/13 01:12 PM RAID Hell
spiffnme Offline
axiomite

Registered: 04/01/03
Posts: 5214
Loc: Los Angeles
U guys usually have an answer for everything, so how about some tech support? LOL!

I moved my workstation to a new facility and upon bootup, I was greeted with a warning that multi-bit ECC errors had been detected on my RAID controler. It suggested the DIMM be replaced less I risk likely corrupt data.

So, I ordered a new DIMM. Installed the DIMM, boot up gave me the same exact error message. Whaa??

Borrowed another controller card (Dell perc H800, same as my bad one) and everything booted up a-ok, but it no longer sees my RAID configuration at all.

Any ideas how I can get my data back?


PS - this is even weirder...the RAID control management software seems to be gone as well. Anyone have a link to where I can re-download it? I believe it was LSI megaRAID software?
_________________________
"A nation cannot prosper long, when it favors only the prosperous." -President Barack Obama

Top
#395294 - 07/19/13 01:26 PM Re: RAID Hell [Re: spiffnme]
spiffnme Offline
axiomite

Registered: 04/01/03
Posts: 5214
Loc: Los Angeles
FYI...specs


Win7 Ultimate 64-bit - os
ASUS Z9PE-D8 WS - motherboard
Intel E5-2650 (x2) - cpus
32GB Kingston KVR16R11D4K4/32 - system memory
ASUS GTX 690 4GD5 - graphics card
Dell Perc H800 RAID controller
Seagate 3TB (x8) drives in Sans Digital TR8X+BP enclosure
_________________________
"A nation cannot prosper long, when it favors only the prosperous." -President Barack Obama

Top
#395296 - 07/19/13 01:36 PM Re: RAID Hell [Re: spiffnme]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3448
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
That's likely to be a fault in the RAID controller itself, or likely the DIMM slot. Try some air in a can to blow it out, and then insert/remove the DIMM a few times.

Go back to the old RAID controller, and see if there's a way to back up the RAID config, write it to the disks. At least document all the settings. Hopefully the replacement controller will allow you recreate an array, without initializing it.

But try cleaning the old controller first.

What management software are you talking about?
_________________________
Pioneer VSX-1018AH-K, PDP-5020FD, DV-79AVi
Axiom M22s, VP150, QS8s
Sony PS3, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#395298 - 07/19/13 01:40 PM Re: RAID Hell [Re: spiffnme]
spiffnme Offline
axiomite

Registered: 04/01/03
Posts: 5214
Loc: Los Angeles
We tried the old card several times. Re-seated the DIMM (old one and new one) as well as the card itself on the MB. Always barks about ECC errors at boot up.

LSI MegaRAID is the software I'm looking for a download link for.
_________________________
"A nation cannot prosper long, when it favors only the prosperous." -President Barack Obama

Top
#395301 - 07/19/13 01:58 PM Re: RAID Hell [Re: spiffnme]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3448
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
I mean the BIOS settings? I don't see how the Windows software would have just disappeared. It may not be auto-starting because there's no configured array.

The text-mode settings can be disabled on the card. It used to be you could use a floppy to get into the card and re-enable it. I wonder if you put both cards in at the same time, if you can change the settings on the new from the old.
_________________________
Pioneer VSX-1018AH-K, PDP-5020FD, DV-79AVi
Axiom M22s, VP150, QS8s
Sony PS3, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#395302 - 07/19/13 02:03 PM Re: RAID Hell [Re: spiffnme]
Ken.C Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/03/03
Posts: 17741
Loc: NoVA
The new card should have a Foreign configuration setting in the card BIOS, if it's seeing the drives at all. Look at that tab, and then import the foreign config, and Bob's your uncle.
_________________________
I didn't do it, no one saw me, you can't prove anything.

Top
#395304 - 07/19/13 02:12 PM Re: RAID Hell [Re: spiffnme]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16259
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
RAID configuration data is written to NVRAM on the controller, but there's also information on the disks themselves that can help you recover the proper configuration. Page 27 and 28 of this manual seems to suggest the the H800 controller should automatically detect the configuration data on your drives and offer to import that configuration for you. This isn't happening?

As a last resort -- and this will only work if you remember exactly how your RAID was configured -- you can manually recreate the configuration on the new card, but choose NOT to initialize/format the disks. I've had to do this a couple times and things worked out well.
_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
#395306 - 07/19/13 03:09 PM Re: RAID Hell [Re: spiffnme]
spiffnme Offline
axiomite

Registered: 04/01/03
Posts: 5214
Loc: Los Angeles
Foreign config is grayed out.

Config in bios sees all drives, but as 2gb drives (they are 3tb each)
_________________________
"A nation cannot prosper long, when it favors only the prosperous." -President Barack Obama

Top
#395307 - 07/19/13 03:17 PM Re: RAID Hell [Re: spiffnme]
ClubNeon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/06/09
Posts: 3448
Loc: Western Maryland, USA
Do both controllers have the same firmware revision? Drives over 2TB can have issues, especially with older controllers.
_________________________
Pioneer VSX-1018AH-K, PDP-5020FD, DV-79AVi
Axiom M22s, VP150, QS8s
Sony PS3, surround backs
-Chris

Top
#395310 - 07/19/13 05:06 PM Re: RAID Hell [Re: ClubNeon]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16259
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
Good catch on the firmware version. Download an update here: http://www.dell.com/support/drivers/us/en/19/driverdetails?driverid=D529D

You might want to put the card back in the other machine and update it from there, as you'll need a working OS to run the update from.
_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.