Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Our Newest Flagship Model: The M100

Why We Make Our Own Drivers

Wall'O'Fame
"Serenity Cinema", now with 40% extra Serenity!
Updated as requested.
Who's Online
2 registered (JohnK, BBIBH), 126 Guests and 7 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
12791 Members
11 Forums
22691 Topics
400653 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17698
pmbuko 16227
SirQuack 13311
CV 11064
MarkSJohnson 10694
Meanwhile On Facebook

8| Don't miss Andrew Welker's post on our message boards about the new subwoofer...

󾓲 The April Newsletter is out! Did you get your copy? http://www.axiomaudio.co...

Double-take! :O How well do you know our line? First one to spot the surprise...

Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#398593 - 11/16/13 12:13 AM Re: How can I elevate QS-8's without wall mounting? [Re: GregM]
SirQuack Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 01/29/04
Posts: 13311
Loc: Iowa
soup cans
_________________________
M80s-VP180-QS8s-EP600-2xEP350 Denon3808 Outlaw7700
M22-OWM22-VP100-Denon2805
Audio Nirvana

Top
#398594 - 11/16/13 02:01 AM Re: How can I elevate QS-8's without wall mounting? [Re: GregM]
brwsaw Offline
aficionado

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 858
Don't forget Nintendo DS cases.

Top
#398595 - 11/16/13 02:18 AM Re: How can I elevate QS-8's without wall mounting? [Re: GregM]
brwsaw Offline
aficionado

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 858
If you are looking for a stand alone solution you could look into the stands I used last year.



All I had to do was cut a hole in the top.
I'm still using them under my rear surrounds.

Top
#398600 - 11/16/13 07:53 AM Re: How can I elevate QS-8's without wall mounting? [Re: brwsaw]
onn Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/28/08
Posts: 862
Loc: Edmonton Alberta
Or perhaps something like this

_________________________
My system

Top
#398632 - 11/18/13 01:18 AM Re: How can I elevate QS-8's without wall mounting? [Re: GregM]
GregM Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/03/04
Posts: 160
Loc: Kirkland, WA
How exactly do these stands mount to the bottom of the QS-8?

Greg

Top
#398652 - 11/18/13 07:48 PM Re: How can I elevate QS-8's without wall mounting? [Re: GregM]
onn Offline
aficionado

Registered: 02/28/08
Posts: 862
Loc: Edmonton Alberta
Originally Posted By: GregM
How exactly do these stands mount to the bottom of the QS-8?

Greg


If you're asking me, then the speaker sits on top of the stand. There's a small plate in front and 2 screws in the back to tighten the speaker against the fron plate
_________________________
My system

Top
#398654 - 11/18/13 09:39 PM Re: How can I elevate QS-8's without wall mounting? [Re: GregM]
brwsaw Offline
aficionado

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 858
Gravity

Top
#398720 - 11/21/13 10:53 AM Re: How can I elevate QS-8's without wall mounting? [Re: brwsaw]
GregM Offline
veteran

Registered: 06/03/04
Posts: 160
Loc: Kirkland, WA
If you are serious that is a deal killer. I won't have $500 speakers just sitting on top of a stand waiting to get knocked over.

Oh well back to the old drawing board.

NC

Top
#398724 - 11/21/13 01:01 PM Re: How can I elevate QS-8's without wall mounting? [Re: GregM]
brwsaw Offline
aficionado

Registered: 10/12/12
Posts: 858
IMO it's no different than placing book shelf speakers on stands.
I'm more concerned with my wall mounted Q's than I am about the ones on the stands.
If they were out into the room it would be a different story, I would look at securing the stand to the floor.
Because of the weight of the speakers and how well they fit on the top of the stands I wouldn't be too concerned about them moving too much.
You could replace two of the bolts that secure the woofer with longer ones installed through the top plate if you really felt the need.


Edited by brwsaw (11/21/13 01:01 PM)

Top
#399210 - 12/13/13 07:08 AM Re: How can I elevate QS-8's without wall mounting? [Re: GregM]
MichaelTrottar Offline
buff

Registered: 12/10/13
Posts: 55
I can't find a tv take a position with a huge enough area to keep the VP-150 route. So I may have to develop a wood made box kind of framework that is start on the top side and rear and has about a ten inches size that can keep the VP-150.

Top
Page 2 of 3 < 1 2 3 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.