Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Wall'O'Fame
Greg's pseudo-HT room
EP175v4 with M3v4
Who's Online
1 registered (CV), 31 Guests and 6 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13336 Members
11 Forums
22946 Topics
405851 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17809
pmbuko 16298
SirQuack 13344
CV 11273
MarkSJohnson 10967
Meanwhile On Facebook
Page 3 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#400482 - 01/29/14 11:34 PM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: sedimin]
exlabdriver Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1065
Tom:

To tell you the truth, I wondered why on the VP160 page that option was there. I took me a while too before the light came on, ha!

TAM

Top
#400484 - 01/30/14 12:03 AM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: exlabdriver]
Mad_Chesser Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/11/13
Posts: 195
Loc: B.C., Canada
Before my center channel arrived:





After center channel arrived and setup as described in my earlier post:



_________________________
2 Axiom M80s v3
1 Axiom VP160 v3
2 Paradigm ADP-150
Pioneer SC-61
Rotel RMB-1095
51" Samsung Plasma

Top
#400485 - 01/30/14 02:16 AM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: sedimin]
exlabdriver Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1065
Mad:

Nice. That beast makes your TV appear like it shrunk, ha!

My present Sony stand is a low, wide one like yours. Since I hate visible wires in my system, I use this type of 'wire loom' to clean up the appearance behind my stuff - at least where it can been seen.

I get mine at Canadian Tire but this is a good example:

http://www.cableorganizer.com/hosa/

TAM

Top
#400487 - 01/30/14 07:26 AM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: exlabdriver]
Mad_Chesser Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/11/13
Posts: 195
Loc: B.C., Canada
oooh, I like that idea smile Thanks.

I'm pretty ocd about normally too, but I know soon I'm going to be getting a whole new slew of equipment in that stand, so I kind of just said F it for now. I'll make it all pretty and proper at that point. And I think I'll look into your suggestion as well.

Yeah, that thing is a beast. When it arrived, I was just like, "damn! this shelving unit won't do!" and went to futureshop at 8pm and bought the new stand on a total impulse buy. lol
_________________________
2 Axiom M80s v3
1 Axiom VP160 v3
2 Paradigm ADP-150
Pioneer SC-61
Rotel RMB-1095
51" Samsung Plasma

Top
#400498 - 01/30/14 12:50 PM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: sedimin]
exlabdriver Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1065
It's interesting ref the wire loom. I've been using this product since I first saw it in my car's engine compartment about 25 years ago when they first started using it in that application. At that time only black was available but now it comes in several colours.

My TV has 1 visible 'fat cable' that contains the power cord, a couple of HDMI cables & a grounding wire all in 1 clean package. Judging from the many pics I see of other people's systems, not many use it...

TAM

Top
#400554 - 02/01/14 03:04 AM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: sedimin]
exlabdriver Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1065
Mad:

FS is clearing out some nice TV stands so today I bought this one:

http://www.futureshop.ca/en-ca/product/z...449df92ede6en02

I was amazed on how much classier & nicer it looks in the store vs on their web page - even the missus was impressed. At $140 (supposedly $300 off both at FS & BB), they are giving them away.

So no shimming now but some assembly required, ha!...

TAM

Top
#400560 - 02/01/14 07:15 PM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: sedimin]
Socketman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 07/12/09
Posts: 1215
Loc: Whitehorse YT
Upgraditis is friggin brutal. grin Be sure to post a pic after you have it set up and no beer drinkin till after .
_________________________
DOG is GOD spelled backwards.
I blame my terseness on my keyboard. smile

Top
#400561 - 02/01/14 08:42 PM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: sedimin]
exlabdriver Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1065
The 'Some Assembly Required' went OK but there were a few expletives thrown about as expected. Seems like a nice & very sturdy unit. The tempered smoked black glass shelves can hold up to 65 lbs so the 160 should not be a problem for the top shelf.

My 160 doesn't arrive until Tuesday, but I won't be able to get at it until Thursday or so. I think that there will be some trial & error to get the adjustable TV Mount at the right height to clear the 160 as I want it to be as low as possible.

Anyway, I dread having to disassemble the old system & fitting it into the new stand...

TAM

Top
#400573 - 02/02/14 06:38 PM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: exlabdriver]
Mad_Chesser Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/11/13
Posts: 195
Loc: B.C., Canada
very nice stand! I was interested in that exact one actually, but the price was much higher when I was looking at it. That's a great deal that you picked that up for.

I like it smile
_________________________
2 Axiom M80s v3
1 Axiom VP160 v3
2 Paradigm ADP-150
Pioneer SC-61
Rotel RMB-1095
51" Samsung Plasma

Top
#400653 - 02/04/14 03:42 PM Re: TV on VP160? [Re: sedimin]
exlabdriver Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 09/07/11
Posts: 1065
According to my neighbour, my 160 arrived this morning and is safely inside. They had a package on the same UPS truck so it worked out well.

Unfortunately I'm in Victoria till tomorrow helping my daughter do some remodeling while her hubby is on his way to 'The Gulf' aboard one our warships for 8 months...

TAM

Top
Page 3 of 6 < 1 2 3 4 5 6 >



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.