Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Wall'O'Fame
Greg's pseudo-HT room
EP175v4 with M3v4
Who's Online
1 registered (Ken.C), 27 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13336 Members
11 Forums
22945 Topics
405833 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17809
pmbuko 16298
SirQuack 13344
CV 11273
MarkSJohnson 10966
Meanwhile On Facebook

Shopping made easy! Need it by the 24th? Upgrade to air shipping for just $20!...

Just two more days! Better tell your gift-givers! http://axiomaudio.com/holida...

So many people took advantage of the weekend sales! Lots of auditioning about t...

Only a few hours left to get a gift card worth up to 25% of your purchase! http:...

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#402054 - 03/21/14 07:34 AM Can I stream lossless over wifi?
BobG Offline
old hand

Registered: 10/02/04
Posts: 82
Loc: Rock Springs, WI
Greetings,

I am looking for info on streaming audio from my desktop Itunes to my stereo systems. Currently I have a wifi system consisting of an Airport Extreme and two Airport Express's, one each feeding my two separate systems. The Express's are connected to the preamps by RCA cables. My Itunes libray is all ripped in lossless format.

My question is am I sending that lossless data all the way to the stereo, or is it being degraded somewhere along the way? And assuming that it is being degraded, what opitons do I have to prevent that?

Thanks in advance.
_________________________
M60's Rotel Nad Music Hall MMF-5
M80's VP150 QS8's Sherwood Newcastle Panasonic Plasma
Algonquins

Top
#402056 - 03/21/14 10:34 AM Re: Can I stream lossless over wifi? [Re: BobG]
pmbuko Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 04/02/03
Posts: 16298
Loc: Leesburg, Virginia
If you've got lossless content in iTunes, you'll get lossless content at the Airport Express.

Check out Tesserax's detailed response to a similar question here: https://discussions.apple.com/thread/3931443


Edited by pmbuko (03/21/14 10:34 AM)
_________________________
"I wish I had documented more…" said nobody on their death bed, ever.

Top
#402067 - 03/21/14 04:10 PM Re: Can I stream lossless over wifi? [Re: pmbuko]
BobG Offline
old hand

Registered: 10/02/04
Posts: 82
Loc: Rock Springs, WI
Thanks for that link.

If you've got lossless content in iTunes, you'll get lossless content at the Airport Express.

So, as I understand it, with my current set-up of having the Airport Express connected to the pre-amp with RCA cables, the digital to analog conversion is happening in the AE? Does this affect the lossless data file or does the AE send lossless data over the RCA cables also?

If I connect the AE to the pre-amp with an optical cable, then the conversion will be done by the DAC in the pre-amp, correct? I assume that would be a better option?
_________________________
M60's Rotel Nad Music Hall MMF-5
M80's VP150 QS8's Sherwood Newcastle Panasonic Plasma
Algonquins

Top
#402068 - 03/21/14 04:34 PM Re: Can I stream lossless over wifi? [Re: BobG]
BobG Offline
old hand

Registered: 10/02/04
Posts: 82
Loc: Rock Springs, WI
OK, after further research, it looks like my Rotel RC1070 preamp does not have an optical input. In fact I don't think it even has an internal DAC. (I assume my CD player has the DAC?)

So, that means the Airport Express is doing the digital to analog conversion? Is that a capable DAC or should I be looking at upgrades? I assume that would require a DAC at each AE? probably not in the budget...
_________________________
M60's Rotel Nad Music Hall MMF-5
M80's VP150 QS8's Sherwood Newcastle Panasonic Plasma
Algonquins

Top
#402071 - 03/21/14 05:53 PM Re: Can I stream lossless over wifi? [Re: BobG]
dakkon Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 02/08/04
Posts: 1846
Originally Posted By: BobG

So, that means the Airport Express is doing the digital to analog conversion? Is that a capable DAC or should I be looking at upgrades? I assume that would require a DAC at each AE? probably not in the budget...


I wouldn't sweat it.

Top
#402072 - 03/21/14 09:42 PM Re: Can I stream lossless over wifi? [Re: dakkon]
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10412
Bob, the DACs in nearly all current audio equipment are excellent and entirely sufficient for audibly flawless conversion. This includes Airport Express and isn't a cause for concern.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#402079 - 03/22/14 03:15 PM Re: Can I stream lossless over wifi? [Re: BobG]
terzaghi Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 04/04/07
Posts: 4848
Loc: Tulsa, Oklahoma
I stream flac files to my denon 3803 with TVersity media server with no issues over wifi.
_________________________
-David

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.