Print Thread
Rate Thread
receiver and surround format ?
#42346 04/20/04 07:22 PM
cocheex Offline OP
hobbyist
OP Offline
hobbyist
first of all let me say im new to the home theatre thing so if my ?'s sound basic and stupid, sorry. im looking to get the onkyo txsr701 for my axioms (m60's,vp160,qs8's(3)) 6.1 setup that will be coming soon. ive seen so many different fomats for surround shopping for receivers could someone tell me what they all are, the difference between them all (dolby digital, pro logic, etc...) particularly the formats the 701 receiver have. it says thx ex, are there different types of thx surrounds?

also, ive heard alot of talk about sacd's and dvd-a. dvd-audio is just a cd on a dvd that will play in any dvd player right? do you need a special cd player for sacd's or will they play in any cd player? im a huge pink floyd fan and cant wait to hear some cd's on the new system.
thanks in advance.

Re: receiver and surround format ?
#42347 04/20/04 07:40 PM
axiomite
axiomite
I hope you'll forgive me for not directly answering your question. It would take a lot of typing to answer it.

Try CNET's Quick Guide to surround formats

or Home Theater 101 - Sound Formats

Either, or both, should answer your questions. The CNET tutorial has info on SACD and DVD-A.

P.S. You don't sound stupid at all. Asking is the right thing to do.

Hope this helps.

Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton
#42348 04/20/04 08:42 PM
cocheex Offline OP
hobbyist
OP Offline
hobbyist
thats exactly what im looking for ajax, thanks alot. i would also like some real world opinions on the formats. people who have heard them all, there pref. and why?

#42349 04/21/04 12:22 AM
hobbyist
hobbyist
Very nice links Ajax! Much appreciated. Sometimes that's all us newbies need is a point (or kick) in the right direction.

#42350 04/21/04 12:35 AM
R
connoisseur
connoisseur
R
Jack - you are a constant source of surprise. Thanks for those links.