Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Positioning Floorstanding Speakers

Our Newest Flagship Model: The M100

Why We Make Our Own Drivers

Wall'O'Fame
"Serenity Cinema", now with 40% extra Serenity!
Updated as requested.
Who's Online
4 registered (wschwartz, alan, stoudtlr, frozen), 141 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
12658 Members
11 Forums
22680 Topics
400368 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17695
pmbuko 16221
SirQuack 13309
CV 11054
MarkSJohnson 10668
Meanwhile On Facebook

8| Don't miss Andrew Welker's post on our message boards about the new subwoofer...

󾓲 The April Newsletter is out! Did you get your copy? http://www.axiomaudio.co...

Double-take! :O How well do you know our line? First one to spot the surprise...

Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#45826 - 05/13/04 03:27 PM Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms-
kapone Offline
frequent flier

Registered: 05/09/04
Posts: 19
Loc: Rockville, MD
Well, I just bought a Denon 3805, not the Yamaha, BUT my buddy has the 1400 and we played with his set for a lil while before, In my opinion (keyword .. mine, remember a lot of these things are subjective) the YPAO did an outstanding job of setting up his sound and level parameters.

So, have I changed my opinion, No, I may just get a Yammy from the local Tweeter and try it to see how it sounds with my speakers and check out the YPAO.

Top
#45827 - 05/13/04 05:47 PM Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms-
mac60 Offline
hobbyist

Registered: 03/14/04
Posts: 28
I used it in the beggining but ended up doing everything manually. I like the way I set it up way better. Just the PEQ vs GEQ makes a huge difference in sound.

Set it up with YPAO and then start experimenting. You'll do plenty of that!

Top
#45828 - 05/14/04 01:09 AM Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms-
JohnK Offline
shareholder in the making

Registered: 05/11/02
Posts: 10305
Jose, definitely use YPAO. I'd suggest setting it to skip the speaker size and crossover frequency adjustments and instead manually setting those to the THX recommendation of all speakers "small" and a 80Hz crossover. Another point I've found is that it may give better results(although this might not apply to your listening room)to set the equalization to give preference in adjustments to the "low" area, rather than "flat", which tends to use its limited equalization assets over the entire frequency range equally.
_________________________
-----------------------------------

Enjoy the music, not the equipment.



Top
#45829 - 05/14/04 11:40 AM Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms-
CooLJ92 Offline
old hand

Registered: 05/12/04
Posts: 65
Loc: California
Kapone,
The threats that real80sman lists are the ones I was reffering too.

Thanks for all of your suggestions.
_________________________
Onkyo TX-SR805
M60T
EP500
VP150
QS4
Outdoor Algonquins

Top
#45830 - 05/15/04 07:25 AM Re: YPAO to calibrate my Axioms-
real80sman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/16/02
Posts: 1115
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Cool - no threats. You said that "you read somewhere" - I just refreshed your memory as to where you read it.

I have absolutely no experience with ypao (or the like) as I am a 2.1ch guy. So I can neither condemn or endorse such features.

In the future, I am looking to upgrade to a 6.1 system and for movies, it may prove usefull. Actually, it would be fun to play around with the settings and see (hear) how things change.

For music though, I am a firm beleiver of "true direct". Bypass as much switching, tone controls, and gagetry as possible.
_________________________
Shawn

Epic 80/600 + M3's + Custom Finish Algonquin V3's

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.