Rate Thread
Page 2 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
Re: NRC data show Energy & Paradigm better than Ax
#47159 05/27/04 11:30 PM
R
connoisseur
connoisseur
R
Now I'm questioning my purchase of the Axioms. I stupidly actually LISTENED to the speakers (including the Paradigms) when all I apparently needed to do was download some charts and look at the lines. I honestly don't know what I was thinking.

Re: NRC data show Energy & Paradigm better than Axiom
#47160 05/28/04 05:55 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur

#47161 05/28/04 08:03 PM
shareholder in the making
shareholder in the making
I'm an expert?

#47162 05/28/04 08:07 PM
axiomite
axiomite
Don't let it go to your head! Did you bring this weather with you? (Inside joke folks. Peter just flew into Cleveland and it's cloudy, 57 degrees and I'm freezing my a$$ off.

Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton
#47163 05/28/04 08:14 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
jbmjr,

Your statement, taken at face value, is misguided. Of course every speaker designer is always working to improve musical accuracy and fidelity of the products. But you should understand that the NRC curves must be viewed as a family of curves, and that they require careful interpretation by experts, read in context with data from double-blind listening tests of the particular speakers in question, especially if you are making comparisons between different brands and models.

Note also the date of the measurements. For example, the curves for the Axiom M80ti, measured by Soundstage in August, 2001, do not represent the performance of current production M80s. Speaker designers are always seeking to tweak the performance of models, and changes may occur in production. Part of my role at Axiom is to occasionally suggest small tweaks or refinements to the performance of a particular speaker, if it's achieveable without making other compromises.