Get Free, Friendly, Expert Advice
Call 1-866-244-8796 or email

Designed and Manufactured in Canada Since 1980


AxiomAudio Blog

Blind Listening Tests

Sneak Peek into Axiom’s Current Research and Development

Axiom’s Newest Speaker: The In-Ceiling M3

Wall'O'Fame
Experimental Atmos
Greetings fellow Axiom owners...
Who's Online
2 registered (CV, fredk), 67 Guests and 4 Spiders online.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Financing
Forum Stats
13327 Members
11 Forums
22918 Topics
405139 Posts

Max Online: 378 @ 02/24/13 04:33 PM
Top Posters
Ken.C 17789
pmbuko 16289
SirQuack 13339
CV 11236
MarkSJohnson 10938
Meanwhile On Facebook

Did you get your "Golden Email"? The great gift certificate email giveaway star...

Here's a helpful article for everyone looking at putting a new stereo or home th...

Interesting article about who's getting the money from streaming radio services...

Topic Options
Rate This Topic
#52051 - 07/10/04 07:33 AM Help! (Please)
real80sman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/16/02
Posts: 1127
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Well, my search for an inexpensive surround receiver with pre-outs has finally ended with this unit. Some of you may recall that it is the sister unit to the RX-V740 that I was looking at. Most dealers were asking around $450 - I picked it up off e-bay for $225.

So far I am very happy, except for one issue. When I set my DVD player for dts out, I get no sound AT ALL. Switch it back to DD 5.1 or 6.1 and it works just fine, but not dts. I have tried both the coaxial cable and optical cable with no success.

Do you think it is the DVD player or the receiver? Any suggestions?

With thanks,
Shawn

BTW - the dts neo modes work fine.


_________________________
Shawn

Epic 80/600 + M3's + Custom Finish Algonquin V3's

Top
#52052 - 07/10/04 08:39 AM Re: Help! (Please)
Bob4action Offline
old hand

Registered: 11/17/03
Posts: 73
Loc: Philadelphia, Pa.
Greetings,
Without knowing which dvd player you have, it would difficult to guess the issue. Be sure the dvd is coded for dts, too. I'd wager it would be the dvd player, not the receiver. I've owned the htr 5660, and I believe that it is the distribution equivalent of the rxv-640, since there was no htr equivalent of the rxv-740. Also, even though it is spec'ed at 85 wpc, Yamaha confirmed to me on 2 occasions that it was in fact rated at 90 wpc. The specs were apparently written up before it actually went into production where it gained a few more watts. If you have the owners manual, you'll notice that the specs published in the front differ from those in the back.
b.

Top
#52053 - 07/10/04 08:43 AM Re: Help! (Please)
Ajax Offline
axiomite

Registered: 12/30/03
Posts: 6252
Loc: Cleveland, Ohio
I am confused by your saying "When I set my DVD player for dts out..."

This is the obvious response, but I worry that if you are already aware of this you will feel I'm insulting your intelligence. I assure you, I don't mean to do that, I just want to cover all the bases.

Do the DVDs you are trying to play have a DTS track? Many do not. When you load your DVD go to the main menu, and look for a sub menu like "setup," or "audio" or "language." In that menu, if the DVD has a DTS track, you will find it as one of the choices. Select it, and your receiver should automatically switch to the DTS mode. If there is nothing about DTS in that menu, then the DVD doesn't have a DTS track.

Do NOT plug both a coaxial and optical cable from your DVD player to the receiver at the same time. If you do, your receiver defaults to the coaxial input, which, unless you have manually changed it, is set as your CD player input. I took a look at your receiver's manual, and the only digital cable you should be running from your DVD player to your reciever should be an optical cable to digital input #3, which is the default digital input for your DVD player.

Again, if all this is eliciting an "Oh, I already know that, you idiot. That's not the problem." response, I humbly apologize.

Keep us posted.


_________________________
Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton

Top
#52054 - 07/10/04 11:08 AM Re: Help! (Please)
NeverHappy Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 12/12/03
Posts: 1424
Loc: Western Canada
real80sman, I think its best if you started by telling us what DVD it is you have!

Top
#52055 - 07/10/04 12:35 PM Re: Help! (Please)
mobomofo Offline
hobbyist

Registered: 06/25/04
Posts: 27
Loc: Maine
Make sure DTS output is set to "bitstream" on your DVD player.
_________________________
--MoboMoFo

Top
#52056 - 07/11/04 06:51 AM Re: Help! (Please)
real80sman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/16/02
Posts: 1127
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Thanks for the replies.

Bob - When I was at the local shops, it looked identical front & back to a 740. You may very well be correct with it being a 640, though. Regardless, it seems to drive the 4ohm 80's with no sweat. More than once, I ran it hard for over 2 hours, and it didn't even get as hot as my old Luxman did.

Jack - Absolutely no offence taken. I deal with the public on a daily basis, and you can't make any assumptions regarding a person's intelligence, knowledge or skill level. (It is amazing how many people still don't know there is a filter on their furnace.)

Yes the DVD's had the dts track. I would choose this option from the menu and the sound would go completely dead.

Nope, only one connection at a time - coax OR optical.

Never - Don't laugh. It is a Goldstar DVD3230NC that I got as a gift about 3 to 4 years ago. Not my first choice by any means, but it has never hiccupped, not even once.

Mobo - There you go. On the player's internal setup it was set to PCM only. I switched it to PCM/STREAM and voila! dts-es 6.1 in all it's glory! Thank-you.

Shawn

_________________________
Shawn

Epic 80/600 + M3's + Custom Finish Algonquin V3's

Top
#52057 - 07/11/04 08:07 AM Re: Help! (Please)
Bob4action Offline
old hand

Registered: 11/17/03
Posts: 73
Loc: Philadelphia, Pa.
Greetings Shawn,
I believe the only differences between the rx-v 640 (htr-5660) and the 740 are an lcd remote, phono input and osd. Yamaha also advised me to keep the impedance at 8 ohm, even though I was using 6 ohm QS8 and VP150 along with 8 ohm m60's...
b.

Top
#52058 - 07/11/04 09:53 AM Re: Help! (Please)
Bilbo_Baggins Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/15/04
Posts: 195
Loc: Utah
i would try to borrow a DVD with DTS and plug that in. my guess it's the DVD player.

Top
#52059 - 07/11/04 07:58 PM Re: Help! (Please)
real80sman Offline
connoisseur

Registered: 05/16/02
Posts: 1127
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Bilbo - Thanks, but no need. Read 3 posts up.

_________________________
Shawn

Epic 80/600 + M3's + Custom Finish Algonquin V3's

Top
#52060 - 07/11/04 09:18 PM Re: Help! (Please)
JSkip Offline
veteran

Registered: 01/30/04
Posts: 193
Loc: New Jersey
Sometimes there is no explanation. When I play Pearl Harbor in DD 5.1, I get nothing. When I play it in DTS, it works. I took the DVD to my brother's house and it works fine in DD 5.1!

Every other DVD I have or have played works fine in DD 5.1 and DTS.

Who knows why!!!

John

Top



Moderator:  alan, Amie, Andrew, axiomadmin, Brent, Debbie, Ian, Jc 

Home  |  Corporate Info  |  Products  |  Message Board  |  FAQs  |  Warranty  |  Site Map  |  Privacy Statement   |  Contact Us

©2014 Colquhoun Audio Laboratories Limited
All Rights Reserved.