Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Receiver Recommendations?
#5520 09/06/02 01:08 PM
reddish Offline OP
enthusiast
OP Offline
enthusiast
I am new to the home theater scene and am looking for my first receiver in the $1000 range. I've been considering the Denon 3802 but wanted to get some feedback, please let me know what's a good bang for the buck. Thanks!

Re: Receiver Recommendations?
#5521 09/06/02 01:52 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
Hello reddish,

Denon doesn't skimp on heat sinks and cooling of their receiver's output sections, which means the 3802 will drive low impedances (4 ohms) and remain stable, without overheating or triggering of protection circuitry. The latter can happen with some other receiver brands that offer a lot of features but short-change the power-amp sections of the receivers. Typically, those will state that the receiver amps will drive only 6-ohm loads or higher, which is okay if all your speakers have 8-ohm impedances, but not okay if you are planning to get speakers with a nominal 4-ohm impedance rating.

Regards,

Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert (Retired)
#5522 09/06/02 01:58 PM
reddish Offline OP
enthusiast
OP Offline
enthusiast
Thanks Alan! So the 3802 will be able to handle both the QS-8 and the M80ti's with no problem?

#5523 09/06/02 02:08 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
Hi,

That is correct, sir.

Regards,

Alan Lofft,
Axiom Resident Expert (Retired)
#5524 09/06/02 02:57 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
reddish

I have a Denon 1602, and I plugged in some crappy old Braun speakers that are 4 ohms and drove them to high volume levels with ease.

I have no doubts the 3802 can do the same, considering it is far more expensive and in the same line!

#5525 09/06/02 05:03 PM
reddish Offline OP
enthusiast
OP Offline
enthusiast
Thanks Ravi!

#5526 09/06/02 06:40 PM
M
devotee
devotee
M
REDDISH,
I just checked again with 6th Ave . com, they still offer up the Denon 3802 for $699.00 (plus shipping).. Ask for Chris, ex 509..