Tubes?
#55763 07/27/04 04:22 PM
T
thekid Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
T
What is the difference between using tube amps or a solid state amp like a Denon or Yamaha?
These "audiophiles" I speak too seem to think that anything but seperates and tube amps is "low end garbage".
Am I missing something or are they just caught up in their own world of snobery?

Re: Tubes?
#55764 07/27/04 04:29 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
Sounds like you've made up your mind that tube amps are "snobery."

How's the remedial spelling class coming along?

Enjoy the Music. Trust your ears. Laugh at Folks Who Claim to Know it All.
#55765 07/27/04 04:35 PM
T
thekid Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
T
I was actually very busy while typing, I am sorry for the error, I hope it didnt ruin your day. I have not made any decision on tubes at all, I was simply very curious on the differences. I am new to home theater and was trying to find out about a subject I know nothing about.

#55766 07/27/04 04:37 PM
C
connoisseur
connoisseur
C
thekid, A properly set up tube system will be extremely enjoyable, and is not the sign of snobbery, but rather the sign of someone who likes the finer things in life. One of my all time favorite systems was a Tube pre-power through Klipschorns... expensive ? yes... close to live music ? ... absolutely.

Does this mean Denon, Yamaha, etc... are "bad" ? ... No... just different price points and performance levels.

#55767 07/27/04 04:39 PM
T
thekid Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
T
Thanks Craigsub,
I re-read my original question and I was trying to get to the point, but in fact, I think I completely missed it. I just didnt know the difference in sound quality. I never thought someone who owned tubes was a snob, just the people who I had met. Thanks for not attacking me

#55768 07/27/04 05:05 PM
B
connoisseur
connoisseur
B
kid-