Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
what exactly is SA CD ??
#58082 08/19/04 03:31 PM
local
OP Offline
local
I just purchased Yamaha's 5 disc DVDC940. (for Shaun that works with Carrier, this too is on their rewards program with the rxv-1400 amp) It boasts about a SA CD decoder chip. Super Audio CD, I know there are some SA CD only discs available, That play only on SA CD compatible players, do these play in a non 2-channel format/surrond only, thats kinda the way the guy at circut city was explaining it, but he didn't sound to bright. What is the advantage and format of SA CD.

Sunfire amps & processor Sammy 50" Crown amp 2-SVS SS Maple Ultras, Axiom 60s,22s,150cc, QS8s
Re: what exactly is SA CD ??
#58083 08/19/04 03:53 PM
B
connoisseur
connoisseur
B
the SACD stands for 'super audio' cd.. i am not an expert, but the basic concept is they remaster a 2ch cd into a 5.1 multi-channel track. to get the FULL or REAL effect of the 5.1 multi-channel mix, you MUST connect the dvd/cd player using the individual component connections for each channel(fronts, center, surrounds, and sub). the quality of the sacd depends largely on who mixed it and how it was mixed, but in general, the SACD sound experience is much better and more enveloping than your basic 2ch original.

as far as the SACD disc and format, when purchasing the SACD you need to ensure if it is a 'single' layer SACD, or a 'dual' or 'multi' layer SACD.. the difference is the 'single' layer will ONLY have the 5.1 mixed version of the tracks.. it WILL NOT play in your standard cd player, only players that are SACD equipped. the 'dual' or 'multi' layer SACD have not only the track mixed in the 5.1, but also the original enhanced 2ch standrd format. these types of SACD's will play in ANY player. but, if it is put into a player that is not equipped to play SACD's, then it will ONLY play the standard 2ch mix, and not the 5.1 mix.

hope that makes sense and clears up some of your questions.

bigjohn