Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 5 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Re: Breaking in speakers -- is it for real ?
#59748 09/07/04 01:08 PM
B
connoisseur
connoisseur
B
jack-

your mustache is limp, and your momma dresses you funny!!!

now, how's that for an insult!! ok, ok.. i could do better but its early.. cut me some slack.

for what its worth, i DONT believe in speaker break-in.. i think its more the 'ears' breakin in theory.. it took me about 2-3 days to get used to the axioms.. of course, i had been listening to some Cerwin Vega MX-400's for over 10 years. plenty of bass, slight mids, and no highs..

i couldnt be more pleased that my ears have finally caught up!!

bigjohn

EXCUSE ME, ARE YOU THE SINGING BUSH??
#59749 09/07/04 02:44 PM
axiomite
axiomite
No mustache these days, and being the caregiver for my 92 year old momma, I now get to dress HER funny. Payback is sweet.

Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton
#59750 09/07/04 04:08 PM
aficionado
aficionado
I used to believe in speaker break-in until I got my M22's. They sounded good right out of the box. I don't think they sound any better than they did when I first juiced these boys. Maybe I was just blessed with perfectly tweaked ears.

#59751 09/07/04 05:38 PM
connoisseur
connoisseur
You know....I think there are good arguments for each side. To be honest.....I just do not know what to believe. All I know is what sounds good to me.

I do have some questions......if all things mechanical change over time, what makes speakers different? And....why do speaker "surrounds" go bad?

#59752 09/07/04 05:43 PM
shareholder in the making
The fact is that your ears/brain DO adjust, even over a very short period of time. If you listen to music in your car, you probably experience this phenomenon on a regular basis.