Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Who I am & Why I'm here (VERY long!)
#62686 09/29/04 03:34 PM
shareholder in the making
OP Offline
Some of you may enjoy this VERY long post, others may not. If you really make it to the end of this ramble and did NOT enjoy it, please write me and I will refund what you paid to read it. For the others, I hope this sparks a thread of other stories about how you came into this hobby and how you arrived where you are… as well as where you’d like to go from here. Pretty lofty/arrogant considering I’m a newbie, here, huh??

As many of you have likely seen as well, there just aren’t the “stereo” stores around like there used to be in the late 1970’s and 1980’s. That makes it tougher for me to audition speakers the way I’d like. Although Concord, NH is not exactly in the “sticks”, it’s also not a major metropolis teeming with independent brick and mortar showrooms. This is why I’m doing much of my preliminary research on speakers on the net; I’m hoping to weed through the many choices out there so if I have to do a little driving to audition speakers, I can know that I’ve at least narrowed the choices a little beforehand.

Getting back into this hobby and deciding to fund it after being away from it for several years has caused me to do some reflecting as to how I first started enjoying it and how I’ve gotten to where I am. Like many of you, frequently my lifestyle is far too busy to ever allow me to sit and think, and this introspection really brought back some nice memories for me.