Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Newbie Sub Question
#70502 12/03/04 01:06 PM
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Hi all. I'm a newbie to this forum and to this type of home theatre. I recently purchased a new system for our living room and have been completly amazed at the difference in setup compared to our old sony "theatre in a box" system. This one is much more complex, which makes it painfully fun. My question is this. According to Axiom, the EP350 automatically detects a signal and changes the rear indicator light from red to green. But I've noticed at times the light remains red while I'm playing a movie or cd. Does this mean that no signals are being transmitted to the sub at certain volume levels or that the sub is not receiving them at certain volume levels?

Thanks for the help!

Axiom stuff, Denon stuff, & Sony stuff
Re: Newbie Sub Question
#70503 12/03/04 02:05 PM
axiomite
axiomite
If the light remains red, it probably means that the sub isn't receiving a strong enough signal to turn it on. You might try entering your receiver's "speaker" menu, and turning up your receiver's output to the sub. Then, to keep the sub at the same volume you now have it, turn the volume knob on the back of the sub down a little. See if that makes a difference.

Balancing your speaker volumes by ear usually doesn't yield good results. If you have not already done so you should invest in a setup disk like Avia, or Digital Video Essentials, and the ever trusty Radio Shack Sound Pressure Level Meter to calibrate your system. It would be money well spent, and can make all the difference in the world. This will give you an idea of what I'm talking about. Don't let the technical aspect of this procedure scare you. It's not THAT complicated, and you're fully capable of doing this.

Jack

"People generally quarrel because they cannot argue." - G. K. Chesterton
#70504 12/03/04 03:37 PM
shareholder in the making