Print Thread
Rate Thread
Center Speakers
#7313 12/18/02 03:35 PM
Pinoy Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
On my VP150 I noticed that if I move from the center of my listening area either to the left or to the right, the sound gets weaker. Meaning the speaker output is directed towards the center of the listening area only.

I am wondering if this could be improved if the front of the speaker design is changed to a slight arc where the configuration is MTMTM instead of a flat front with TMMMT. In this arc design the sound should remain the same even if the listener is on the left or the right of the sweet spot because the drivers would be directed towards a wider angle of listening area.

If this is technically not viable or really unsound, please forgive my ignorance. I am not a sound techie but just a listener looking for a better sound.

Re: Center Speakers
#7314 12/18/02 05:55 PM
aficionado
aficionado
The point of that speaker is to lock sound to the TV. Arcing it would disperse sound all over the sound field. I would suggest you play with the placement of your Front speakers.

#7315 12/18/02 09:14 PM
Pinoy Offline OP
veteran
OP Offline
veteran
Thanks for the reply. I have been playing around with various positioning of the VP150 and I found out that so far the one that works best is placing it about 9 inches back from the front of the TV and tilted forward aimed at the listening position. Placing it right at the TV screen sounds too forward and detached.

I am not sure if arcing the center speaker will disperse the sound all over the sound field since it is directional which means that the listener can distinguish that the sound comes from the center speaker and since it is aimed towards the listener it will simulate that it is coming from the TV.

I am not arguing with you, I am just trying to understand the concept.

#7316 12/18/02 09:22 PM
aficionado
aficionado
In reply to: