Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Definitive Power Monitor vs axiom?
#78976 01/25/05 03:21 PM
hobbyist
OP Offline
hobbyist
Let me start by saying that I am by no means an expert. I have been listening to many different speakers and have recently listened to the Definitive Power Monitor bookshelf speakers ($1,100). I was very impressed and love the 8" sub in each speaker. The other alternative is to go for less expensive monitor 450 ($630) with a 10' pressure driven sub in each bookshelf. If I was going to go with this system I would need a sub to compliment. The center also has a sub that makes for incredible sound. I know I am comparing apples and oranges but if you have any advice I would appreciate it. Has anyone listened to the Definitive speaker series? If I were going to go with Axiom I was going to get the M22ti, VP150, and the QS8 surrounds. Any comparisons? Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Definitive Power Monitor vs axiom?
#78977 01/25/05 03:45 PM
enthusiast
enthusiast
In general, I would say that keeping the low frequencies separate from small bookshelf speakers is the best way to go. An 8" or 10" inch speaker in a small box will not compete with a dedicated sub. I would get "cheaper speakers" that do the upper bass, midrange and highs well and spend the savings on a good sub. For good bass, the bigger the enclosure is better. That's why SVS builds water heaters and the EP600 is so tall. Just my $0.02.

#78978 01/25/05 04:44 PM
T
axiomite
axiomite
T
I fundamentally agree with Pete here. I think, performance wise, there is no getting around the notion that really deep bass requires either a really big box or an obscenely powered amp; none of the powered main speakers I've seen satisfies those tenets to my satisfaction.

I'll offer a couple of other observations.