Page 1 of 2 1 2
Epic 80 questions from a Newbie
#79693 01/30/05 08:21 AM
regular
OP Offline
regular
Howdy all,

I'm new to the Axiom forums and I just wanted to say "Hi!"

Thanks to all the helpful threads here on the forum, I'm considering ordering the Epic 80 package (minus the sub) this Sunday. I currently have an HSU VTF-3 (but not the newer Mark II) to handle sub duties. I'll be driving them with a NAD T773 receiver ( 7 x 110W Minimum Continuous Power into 4 / 8 ohms, all channels driven simultaneously), and they'll be used in a medium-sized family room. I just wanted to run a few thoughts/questions by the helpful Axiom Addicts here on the forums.
I just got done auditioning some B&W 703's, which were quite nice. However, I ended up deciding to go the Axiom route instead. It was something about the whole Axiom home theater set costing $1,000 less than just the 703 main speakers that did the trick for me. That extra 2% in performance really costs you - that and the exotic pure walnut finish which greatly improves the sound quality.

Anyway, I really liked the M80's that I was able to audition at a relative's house for several hours one afternoon. They had a beautiful transparent and dynamic sound from top-to-bottom. The only knock I had on them was that sometimes it would sound a bit bright (bright may not be the right word¡Kmaybe forward or aggressive). Granted, this was more apparent with my stellar collection of 80's rock CD's - there's nothing like the over-processed sounds of Def Leppard - but it was also noticeable even on more recent, well-recorded CD's. Norah Jones' vocals on "Come Away with Me" had a bit of harshness or shine to it, as did Diana Krall's vocals on her "The Girl in the Other Room" album. Vocals in general, especially female, just seemed to have a little extra bite to them.